Fancy Fish Sticks for Friday

March 22, 2013 at 5:54 pm | Posted in Fish, Main Dish | 1 Comment

Long time no see! I dropped my camera the other night (oh, I was so upset with myself!) so have been unable to take any pictures.

I went to the local Verizon store today and purchased a 4 GB Memory Card and can now easily download pics from my phone until I’m able to replace the camera. Hubby and I will be in Springfield on Monday and will find a nice little digital point and shoot while we’re there.

Meanwhile, I’ve missed posting meals! This past week I prepared Asian Beef and Noodles (which I’ve made before) and Big Fat Bacon Sliders (which were brand new).

Tonight, since it’s Friday, we had fish. I usually bake fish, but found this yummy recipe at Leite’s Culinaria and am so glad that I prepared the fish sticks.  Never again will I buy the boxed fish sticks!

Now, I’m missing the prep pics so you’ll have to just imagine the creation process.  You will get to see the final product, though, and I promise, you’ll drool and have to create them for your own family.

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

salt and pepper, onion powder and paprika or if you wish, a couple of shakes of Old Bay (I was out, darn it!)

3 large eggs, beaten with salt and pepper added

1 pound firm white fish (I used cod, you can use sole or flounder or sole)

2 cups panko (you could also use regular bread crumbs; I love using panko)

canola oil for frying

lemon wedges or limes if you are my son

Directions:

Warm up about 1/4 inch of canola oil in frying skillet.

Season the flour with salt and pepper plus any other goodies you may have on hand.

In second container, beat eggs with salt and pepper.

In third container, pour in panko.

Slice the fish filets into strips; not too thin but don’t leave them too thick.  They should be equal, so that they all fry up at about the same speed.  Pat them dry before dipping them into the flour.  Gently flour each piece of fish.

Give the fish pieces a gentle egg bath; then a nice little jiggle in the panko until they’re completely covered.

Gently fry each piece of fish, making sure that each side gets pretty and brown, it might take about 10 minutes per fish stick.

Drain on paper towels.

Serve hot with lemon (or lime).

misc 017Not a bad photo, considering it came from my phone, which isn’t a fancy phone.  The fish was delish.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] made these before and they were so delicious, so of course, I had to make them again!  The recipe is courtesy of […]


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

