Beef and Cabbage Soup

March 24, 2013 at 3:12 pm | Posted in Main Dish, My Own Creation, Soups & Stews, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

My mom taught me how to make this soup; she doesn’t follow a recipe and neither did I.  I just remember how she makes it.  It turned out pretty good!  I didn’t have a camera the day I put it together (Thursday, March 21) but this afternoon when I reheated a bowl for lunch, I grabbed my phone and clicked a few photos to share, along with the ingredients and instructions.

Enjoy!soup 002Ingredients:

*Beef (cut into bite-sized cubes)

3 tbsp. canola oil

Water, 5 cups

2 Beef Stock packets from Knorr’s (1 for every 3 1/2 cup of water)

1/2 cabbage (shredded)

1 nice, big Russet potato (peeled and diced)

2 carrots (peeled and diced)

1 package of frozen corn (12 ounces)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Get your biggest stock pot, bring the oil to a hot shimmer and brown your steak.  Once it’s totally browned, add the water and stock packets.  Bring to a boil.  Lower to simmer, cover and pop into oven for at least two hours.

Carefully remove from oven and add cabbage, potato, carrots and corn.  Return to oven for one hour.

Serve with sopa de arroz and tortillas and a squeeze of lemon juice.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

