Holy Yum Chicken

March 28, 2013 at 5:34 pm | Posted in Chicken, Main Dish, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

This recipe comes from Table for Two.  It sounded delicious and looked familiar, so I did some poking around and guess what?  I made the SAME CHICKEN, based on the SAME RECIPE from a DIFFERENT BLOG!

I don’t know who created it first…all I know is that it was yummy.

Ingredients:

Three chicken breasts (I sliced them in half)

1/2 cup Dijon mustard (I used Grey Poupon)

1/4 cup real maple syrup

1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

2 tbsp. cornstarch

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPlace the Dijon mustard, maple syrup, rice wine vinegar, salt and pepper in small bowl. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhisk gently.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPlace chicken into 8 x 8 casserole dish that has been sprayed with Pam.  I actually don’t use Pam any more.  My mom gave me these really cool sprayers that you fill yourself – they work great!  I’ve got one with canola oil and the other with extra virgin olive oil.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnyway – once you have the chicken in the casserole dish, pour the mixture over the top and use a spoon to coat all of the chicken.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABake for 40 minutes, uncovered.  Check with thermometer to make certain that the fattest piece of chicken is at 160 degrees F.  Remove chicken to serving platter. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAKeep the casserole dish on the stove; I left mine on a burner and turned it on LOW.  Grab your cornstarch; the original recipe called for 1 tbsp., but I used 2 tbsp. to make my gravy nice and thick.  Add the cornstarch and whisk continually so that it doesn’t get any lumps.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI even scraped off some of the browning from the sides of the pan.  Once the cornstarch is well-blended and your gravy is thickened, pour on top of chicken and serve.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI served mine with buttered potatoes, mixed veggies (frozen) and walnut muffins.  Yum!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

