Walnut Muffins

March 28, 2013 at 5:52 pm | Posted in Bread, Muffins | 2 Comments

The original recipe is for Pecan Pie Muffins.  It comes from Blackhawkwife at Tasty Kitchen.  At the end of the recipe, Blackhawkwife says you can use walnuts instead of the pecans and since I didn’t have any pecans, I used walnuts.

Ingredients:

1 cup light brown sugar (packed)

1/2 cup flour

1 cup chopped walnuts

2/3 cup softened butter

2 whole eggsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGrease muffin cups – I usually use my silicone cups but for some reason my teenager dislikes washing them, so today I purchased and used paper cups.  I sprayed them with canola oil, using my new handy-dandy sprayer that my mom gave me.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn medium bowl, mix together brown sugar, flour and nuts.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn separate bowl, beat your eggs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGet the softened butter.  I had it on the stove, sitting on the burner and hoped that the heat from the oven would soften it but it didn’t make it soft enough.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made a beginner’s mistake of trying to rush my butter into softness by putting it in the microwave for 30 seconds.  Ack!  Not good.  Not good at all.  Beat the egg and butter together.  The recipe didn’t call for any but I added 1 tsp. of vanilla.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGet your dry ingredients handy and pour them into the wet ingredients.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMix only enough so that the dry ingredients get wet.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFill muffin cups 2/3 of the way full.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABake for 20-25 minutes.  Cool on wire racks; eat them up with lots of real butter.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADaniel commented that these would be great for breakfast.  We had a few left over after supper, so maybe he can have them tomorrow morning.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] pour on top of chicken and serve.I served mine with buttered potatoes, mixed veggies (frozen) and walnut muffins.  […]

  2. Hi there, I would like to subscribe for this web site to take most
    up-to-date updates, thus where can i do it please help.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

