5 Minute Friday: BROKEN

March 29, 2013 at 8:18 am | Posted in 5 Minute Friday | Leave a comment

5-minute-friday-1Here is how we do 5-Minute Friday:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat on the prompt: “Broken” with no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to please visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.

GO:

Broken.  Like a jar of oil.  Like a heart.

Today is Good Friday….one of the most important Holy Days of the Catholic/Christian calendar.  Today, for me, Jesus was broken.  His mother’s heart was broken also.  Imagine seeing your only son, crucified and murdered.  Did she understand?

I wasn’t even born.  Yet for me, because He loves me so much, He was broken and died for me.  Because of my sins and because of the sins of the world.

He allowed Himself to be broken and killed so that the gates of Heaven could be opened for me.  Me?  Are you serious?  YES!  Thank You, Jesus!

What an incredible gift You gave me.  I always cry at Mass when we read the Passion.  This past Sunday, we heard it from the Gospel of Luke.  Of course I cried.  I knelt and cried…after He breathed His last…for me.

Broken.

The best part of His being broken is that on Sunday…three days from his being broken, He will rise!  Yes, our Lord will be ALIVE and He will have saved us – ALL of US!

Thank You, God.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

