Good Friday 2013

March 29, 2013 at 8:47 am | Posted in Good Friday 2013 | Leave a comment

It’s a gloomy, wet, sad looking Friday.  It’s appropriate for Good Friday.  I woke up thinking of this song and decided to find the lyrics to share.  We sang it at Mass on Sunday.  There’s no known author; it’s always been known to me as an African-American spiritual.  I can just see the slaves in the field, singing to God with their beautiful voices.  In spite of the agony of their own lives, they could see the Lord, in His agony.

It’s a beautiful song.

Were You There

Were you there when they crucified my Lord? Were you there when they crucified my Lord? Oh! Sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble. Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

Were you there when they nailed Him to the tree? Were you there when they nailed Him to the tree? Oh! Sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble. Were you there when they nailed Him to the tree?

Were you there when they laid Him in the tomb? Were you there when they laid Him in the tomb? Oh! Sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble. Were you there when they laid Him in the tomb?

Michelangelo PietaPieta by Michelangelo.  Perfectly appropriate for today.  I can almost hear Mary’s heart breaking as she holds her beloved son.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

