5 Minute Friday: AFTER

April 5, 2013 at 7:21 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday | 8 Comments

Late….I know, I almost forgot that it was Friday….what with my teenager sick last night and staying home from school, I thought it was Saturday.

Thankfully, I remembered.  I love 5 Minute Friday and ask you to read and join in.  You may learn something about yourself.  I know that I have….

5-minute-friday-1

Here are the “rules” to 5 Minute Friday:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat on the prompt “After” with no editing, tweaking or self critiquing.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in {you can grab the button code in my blog’s footer}.

3. Go and tell the person who linked up before you what their words meant to you. Every writer longs to feel heard.

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes for the prompt:

After…

The first thing I think of when I think of AFTER is my dad.

He died in 1991 and after he was gone, it’s like a chunk of my heart was removed.

We didn’t have the best relationship and it took me a while to realize that I missed him but mostly I missed the relationship I didn’t get to have with him.  He was very critical of me and very strict with me.  He withheld love and praise when he was angry with me.  He didn’t tell me he loved me very often – yet I know he loved me.  He never told me directly that he was proud of me.

It was at his wake that my Godmother told me that he was proud of me.  He told her.  Wow.  I wish he could have told me himself.

Then, after a few years of growing up and maturing, I came to the realization that I never told him how proud I was of him.  He worked for the railroad upon coming home from the Marines.  He worked out in the rail yards.  He and my mom married and had my brother and I.  My dad wanted more for his family, so along with working his regular shift, he went in to the offices UNPAID and had training so that he could get out of the railroad yard and do better for us.

I didn’t realize this until after he was gone.  I never had the chance to tell him that I am proud of what he did for us.  Even though we had our moments of not knowing what to tell each other, not knowing how much we loved each other, I am so proud of him.  I miss him every day.

Don’t wait until it’s too late to tell someone how you really really feel about them.

After they’re gone, it will be too late.

STOP

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you for this beautiful reminder that we need to tell those we love how we feel about them.

    • Thank you for visiting and commenting.
      Patty

  2. Yes! We should be sure that our loved ones know how we feel about them. None of us know when our time is up.

    • I’ve learned this the hard way, what with my husband having terminal cancer. In a way it’s a blessing, because I can really and truly love and appreciate him.
      Patty

  3. Amen! Tell them every day.

    • I agree! Thank you for visiting.
      Patty

  4. Wow…thank you for sharing this! Absolutely beautiful and what a great reminder!

    • Thank you for visiting!
      Patty


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

