Creamy Bacon Carbonara

April 6, 2013 at 6:03 pm | Posted in Italian, One-Dish Meal, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’ve never made carbonara before and was NERVOUS!  I mean, look, you have to use raw eggs and add them to hot pasta and cook them on the stove top without scrambling them!  Whew!  Thankfully, Jonna from Get Off Your Butt and Bake! helped out with directions on tempering the eggs and helping prevent their scrambling – and it worked.

I am DEFINITELY making this again.

Ingredients (doubled):

4 eggs

1/2 cup whipping cream

2/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Fresh parsley – I used dried parsley

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes (not doubled)

1/2 lb. bacon (not doubled)

1/2 lb. Fettucini (not doubled)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Heat salted water for the Fettucini.  I boiled mine for about 12 minutes; we like al dente pasta.  Besides that, you will cook it for an additional couple of minutes once you add the sauce later.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Using kitchen shears, slice bacon up into small pieces and fry.  I’m not one of those “fry the bacon and crumble it” cooks….my preference is to slice it up with my kitchen shears and then fry it.  To me, it makes more uniform pieces.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, you can prepare the sauce by gathering your Parmesan cheese, eggs, parsley, salt and red pepper.  First, I grated my cheese and added the spices.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add eggs, one at a time.  I’m no pro when it comes to cracking eggs.  The way I do it is to crack one egg at a time into a small dish, then plop it into the mixture.  That way in case I goof and get an egg shell in the bowl, I can throw it all out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once all four eggs are in the bowl with the dry ingredients, measure out your whipping cream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pour in the whipping cream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty, isn’t it?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Time to get the whisk and gently blend everything together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now it’s really pretty.  See the parsley? Okay!  Now your bacon should be all fried up and you can use a slotted spoon to put it into a bowl (with a paper towel) to drain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Things are starting to look good!  This is when I got so nervous, I raced into the living room and told hubby that I was terrified that we’d have scrambled Italian for supper. Well, thankfully, Donna helped:  she explains in her recipe that if you’re concerned about tempering the eggs, save 2-3 tbsp. of pasta water and slowly whisk in 1 tbsp. at a time into the egg mixture.

Before draining the pasta, I took my 1-cup measuring cup and scooped out some pasta water.  I took my pasta to the sink and drained it and while it drained in the colander, I went back to my egg mixture and tempered my eggs like Jonna directed.  It worked beautifully!

After pasta is drained, return to pot and stove-top.  Turn on LOW and slowly add the egg and cheese mixture, stirring all the while.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cook for about 2 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pour hot mixture into serving dish and top with bacon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Serve with hot, buttery Italian bread.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, it was so good!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

