Mexican Chicken with Chorizo & Potatoes

April 7, 2013 at 6:35 pm | Posted in Mexican, My Own Creation, One-Dish Meal, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

This one-dish meal is based on a recipe from Nigella Lawson.  You know me, I can’t take a recipe and do it exactly the way it was written…

Ingredients:

1 tbsp. olive oil

6 chicken thighs, skinless and boneless

16 ounces of chorizo (Spanish sausage, I chose pork – you could also use beef)

1 pound tiny yellow potatoes

3 oranges, plus their zest

tortillas (Mom’s if you’re blessed!  Today I had to use store-bought)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Pour olive oil into shallow roasting pan; add the chicken thighs and coat them with the olive oil.  Slice up any big potatoes, and toss them into the pan with the chicken thighs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now take your chorizo – mine came in a tube, so I had to squeeze it out like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

It didn’t have any sausage skin on it – so I pretty much sliced it into 2 tbsp. pieces and set them in the pan around the chicken and potatoes.  Next, I took my two oranges, sliced them in half and squeezed their juices all over the pan.  Finally, I sliced the third and plopped the slices on top of the chorizo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Cover with foil and pop into hot oven for 30 minutes.  If you’re like me and don’t have a comal, wrap your tortillas in heavy-duty foil and toss them into the oven, too, making sure you close up all the ends of the foil so that the tortillas don’t get tough.  At the end of 30 minutes, check temperature of chicken (it should read at least 160 degrees F) and if so, then remove foil and return to oven for about 10 minutes.  This will let the chicken brown.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Time to make my refried beans to eat along with this dish.  They’re a cinch to make:  heat a bit of canola oil to shimmering, add a drained can of pinto beans and mash, mash, mash your way into bean heaven.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

By the time my beans were ready, my chicken was finished.  I served it in a 9×13 pan and it looked wonderful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Next time, though, I will buy the chorizo in sausage links because the way I purchased and baked mine, it fell apart.  It was still edible, of course, but it would have been prettier if it had been in links.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Delish!  And, by the way, the only time I used my fork for this meal was to hold my chicken to cut it up.  Otherwise, I used my tortilla as a scoop to scoop up the meats, potatoes and beans.  That’s the way we eat!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

