Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce

April 9, 2013 at 6:45 pm | Posted in Italian, Meat-less, One-Dish Meal, Pasta | Leave a comment

This delicious, meatless meal comes courtesy of Milk & Mode.  It was very simple to do, and hubby and I loved it.  The teen wasn’t too fond of it….which puzzles me because he loves spaghetti sauce.  The only real difference between this Tomato Cream Sauce and a typical marinara or spaghetti sauce is the addition of cream.  He loves alfredo sauce.  Oh, well, you can’t win ’em all!

Ingredients, which I doubled, so that I have sauce to freeze for another time:

2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp. butter

2 tbsp. onion powder (original recipe called for onion)

4 cloves of minced garlic

2 cans (15 ounces each) of tomato sauce (original recipe states you could use marinara sauce)

salt and pepper

sugar

1 cup heavy cream

freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese, about 1 cup

basil, fresh is best – I was low on dried basil, so I added some Italian Seasoning

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABegin by boiling water to fix about 1/2 pound of pasta – I used linguine tonight.

Heat olive oil and butter in medium sized pot; add garlic and allow to get soft but not browned.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASlowly add the tomato sauce, salt, pepper and maybe a tablespoon of sugar; stir well and taste.  You may need to add more seasonings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACover and allow to cook on low heat while you’re boiling the linguine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGrate your Parmigiano Reggiano cheese; the original recipe stated to use enough cheese “to taste” and I added about a cup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI hadn’t ever purchased or used Parmigiano Reggiano cheese and it was a bit more costly than Parmesan but it was delish!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy teen took a picture of me goofing around while watching the pasta boil.  I like to have fun while I cook.  I dance in the kitchen and sing as well.  I wasn’t singing tonight but it kind of looks like I was using the spatula like a mic, doesn’t it?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOkay, back to the food!  Once your pasta is al dente, drain in colander.  Remove tomato sauce from heat; I put it on a cool burner.  Slowly pour in the cream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAdd the cheese after you’ve stirred in the cream, then add the basil and stir it all up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASee how the sauce went from red to orange from the cream?  Taste the sauce once you’ve stirred in the cheese and you can adjust seasonings again if necessary.  You can even add more cheese.  Pour pasta into serving dish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI used my 11 x 7 casserole dish for serving.  Scoop out some tomato cream sauce and top the pasta.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOh, it was so good.  I put the Parmigiano Reggiano on the table and served the meal with garlic bread sticks, so we could sop up the tomato cream sauce.  And, as I mentioned earlier, there’s sauce leftover to go into the freezer for another meal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

