5 Minute Friday: HERE

April 12, 2013 at 8:03 am | Posted in 5 Minute Friday | 4 Comments

5-minute-friday-1It’s Friday!  You know what that means….time to play along with Lisa Jo at The Gypsy Mama.  Here are the rules:

Set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking. 2. Link back here and invite others to join in. 3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

OK, are you ready? Please give us your best five minutes on:::

Here…

Here I am.  Samuel told the Lord, “Here I am”

I try to be like Samuel.  Here I am, Lord, please teach me Your will and guide me through these rough oceans.

I know that I was like Samuel’s mother, Hannah, who prayed for God to bless her with a child.  Our child was born 27 days after our 12th anniversary.  He is a blessing.  Sometimes I don’t know how to be a mother and I pray – and pray – and pray, for guidance from the Lord and from His Blessed Mother.

Here I am, Lord.  Help me make it through the nights that seem so bleak; help me make it through the long days that feel lonely.

Here I am, Lord.  Thank You for allowing me to wake up this morning to sunshine and Your glory.

Here I am, Lord.  Thank You for all of the beautiful gifts You have given to me:  my beloved husband;  my precious son; my mother; my brother and sister-in-law; my two beautiful nieces; my extended family,  scattered all across the USA.  Thank You for the gift of sobriety, of sanity.

I love you, Lord.  Here I am.  Teach me to be more like Samuel, ready and willing to answer Your call and to do Your will.

OKAY, today I’m cheating and adding on to my 5 minutes, because I want so share the song we sing at Mass:

I, the Lord of sea and sky
I have heard my people cry
All who dwell in  dark and sin
My hand will save.

I who made the stars and night
I  will make the darkness bright
Who will bear my light to them
Whom shall I  send?

Here I am Lord
Is it I Lord?
I have heard you calling in the  night
I will go Lord
If you lead me
I will hold your people in my  heart.

I the Lord of snow and rain
I have borne my people’s pain
I  have wept for love of them
They turn away.

Read more: http://artists.letssingit.com/daniel-odonnell-lyrics-here-i-am-lord-t3xtzlf#ixzz2QFozBDmm
LetsSingIt – Your favorite Music Community

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for writing. I was just praying for a Samuel for my dear sister-in-law, who has waited for years. I’m encouraged by your story. Thank you for sharing. I’m grateful to God that your post was right before mine.

  2. Thank you, Elizabeth. I have a copy of Hannah’s prayer on the refrigerator, for those days when my almost 14-year old acts like a typical teenager – it reminds me of how much I love him and prayed to God for him. Praying for your sister-in-law and brother. It’s hard to let go and let God take care of our worries, especially when we dream of babies to hold and children to raise.

  3. Such beautiful words, bless you.

  4. Thank you!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

