Pork Carnitas and Refried Beans

April 13, 2013 at 6:10 pm | Posted in Beans, Lunch, Main Dish, Mexican, My Own Creation, Pork Chops, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Yesterday for breakfast, I was craving carnitas and beans.  My teen saw what was up and he stuck around.  He knows what’s good!

Ingredients:

Pork chop, I typically use 1/2 chop per person (cut up into bite sized pieces)

Canola oil (or lard, if you are my mom), maybe 4 tbsp.

1 can of Bush’s pinto beans (unless your mom gives you some homemade), drained

Tortillas (the best ones are the ones my mom makes)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Heat canola oil in small skillet; when it’s shimmery hot, add the pork.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOnce the meat is cooked through, pour in the beans.  Start smashing and smushing them.  The beans need to get dry – this can take anywhere from 8-12 minutes.  See below, how they’re sticking to the side of the skillet?  That’s a good thing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHeat the tortillas and then fill one side with the beans and carnitas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFold in half, so that you make a half-moon.  I made four, two for the teen and two for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo delicious!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

