Baked Mashed Potatoes

April 14, 2013 at 6:54 pm | Posted in Side Dish | Leave a comment

This recipe sounded pretty interesting! I wanted something different than the usual mashed potatoes and when I ran across this recipe on Share Food Pics, I had to grab it.  There are a ton of variations on Pinterest:  some add egg, many add cheese or Greek yogurt and various spices.  Here’s how I made them:

Ingredients:

3 potatoes, peeled and diced

water, enough to cover the potatoes

3 tbsp. salt

3/4 cup butter

1/4 cup milk

2 tbsp. parsley

2 tbsp. onion powder

2 tbsp. garlic powder

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASpray muffin tin with canola oil and set aside.  Bring salted water and potatoes to a boil; boil for about 25 minutes.  Drain potatoes, add butter and seasonings.  Mash!  When they’re mashed enough, add milk and beat with a spoon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have a favorite spoon, you can see it in the above picture; if this spoon ever breaks, I promise you that I will cry.  It’s sturdy and has slots, so when I beat the potatoes, they get lots of air and become very fluffy.  Now, grab your muffin tin and fill each cup with about a spoonful of potato goodness.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASpray tops with canola oil.  The original recipe said to flatten the potato tops with your fork but I left mine looking like little mountains.  Pop into the oven until nice and browned.  It took about 10 minutes for mine to get pretty and brown, they could have stayed in a bit longer but my turkey cutlets were ready to eat and I didn’t want them to get cold.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPretty and yummy.  Serving them was a bit funny – I wasn’t sure how to get them out….it’s not like they’re muffins and would just tip out!  So, we grabbed a serving spoon and scooped out our potatoes that way.  Hey, it worked!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

