Spaghetti Sauce

April 23, 2013 at 6:47 pm | Posted in Crock Pot, Epic FAIL!, Italian, Italian Spices, Main Dish, My Own Creation, Pasta, Spaghetti | 1 Comment

We love spaghetti!  I make the best spaghetti sauce – my husband taught me how.  Here’s how I do it:

Ingredients:

1 pound hamburger (or Italian sausage)

15 oz. can tomato sauce

12 oz. can tomato paste

28 oz. can petite diced tomatoes

6 oz. mushrooms, sliced

2 tbsp. basil

2 bay leaves

2 tbsp. onion powder

2 tbsp. oregano

2 tbsp. parsley

2 garlic cloves, minced

salt and pepper

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brown meat.  Add spices.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pour diced tomato, tomato sauce, paste into crock pot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add browned meat and stir gently.  Cook on LOW until you’re ready to prepare the spaghetti noodles.  I’ve got a Fasta Pasta spaghetti cooker that I love.

Now, this story would typically have a happy ending, complete with a photo of my supper table.

I have to be HONEST with you though and admit to a huge FAIL, though.

I forgot to plug in the crock pot.

So, the sauce sat at room temp ALL DAY – from almost 10:00 a.m. until 5:30 p.m.

Needless to say, it wasn’t the risk of feeding bad food to my family, so the whole shebang was tossed.  Oh, well.  Hubby will make some sauce for tomorrow’s supper while I am gone all day to Springfield.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] posted my spaghetti sauce recipe and his is probably extremely similar since I learned from […]


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

