5 Minute Friday: FRIEND

April 26, 2013 at 9:59 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Friend | 12 Comments

5-minute-friday-1

 

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Please visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments.

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes on:

::

Friend…

I have always been a bit of a loner.  In school, I had maybe two or three friends that I hung out with.  It stayed that way all through college.  Now, I look around and I see that I don’t have a lot of  “real life” friends but I most definitely have a lot of internet friends.  My husband doesn’t quite understand how I can be attached to people that I’ve never met.

It’s hard to explain to someone who isn’t on Facebook or who doesn’t blog.  I show him my Facebook and he’s seen my blog and is astonished by the whole thing.

I have belonged to a group of parents since my son was a toddler; we started out in a forum, which was sold and then taken over by some corporate dude that nobody liked.  We eventually got our own Facebook page and a new forum.  I don’t hang out at the forum much but I check in with them on our Facebook page daily.

These ladies and gentlemen have seen me through some dark days.  There have been times when I go in the page (it’s private, by invitation only, so it’s safe) and just vent.  I’ve cried and screamed and begged and just about given up on life….but the incredible people in this group love me anyway.  They lift me up in ways I never dreamed possible.  I wish we could all get together in real life!  There are mamas and papas from all over the USA and even around the world.  We are united by our type of parenting:  attachment parenting.  Even those of us who no longer use cloth diapers or sleep in family beds are in the group.

These past years with my husband so ill, these people – these beloved friends – have been a HUGE source of support for me.  There are just things I can’t tell anyone else – and all of my secrets are safe with them.  We talk about almost everything; we pray for each other; we help each other financially when it’s needed; they helped make our Christmas a bit sweeter with some incredible gifts:  a Kindle for my husband and a mini camcorder for me; the teen received a really nice book.

I couldn’t live without these friends.  They are an incredible gift from God.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. don’t you just love God sent friends?! 🙂
    visiting from 5min Friday.
    have a fab day!

    • Thank you!

  2. I can so relate! It is hard to explain to anyone who has never met friends via online groups, but honestly my friends in real life don’t support me and aren’t there for me near as much as the lovely ladies I have met online . It must be because we are able to meet a wider variety of people with common interests via computer that makes it easier for finding the most supportive friends. Amen for these ladies in your life!

    • Thank you for visiting. It’s amazing how social media has allowed me to find incredible friends!

  3. I can relate too. There are some amazing people out in the world. When you find them, it doesn’t matter if you see them are not, they are friends, they are there, they love you through it. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you for visiting!

  4. Glad you shared.

    • Thanks for visiting!

  5. I feel the same way. Strange how you can meet people online who make such a huge impact in your world! I treasure my online friends as much as I do my real life friends. They are all a wonderful gift from the Lord. Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    ~Sarah from http://sudryandspecific.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks for your sweet words and thanks for visiting!

  6. I am so thankful for all of the amazing friendships God has brought to me through blogging and social media. He’s so faithful to give us what we need. Blessings!

    • Isn’t it amazing how social media brings us the people we need? Thank you for visiting me!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

