Schatzi’s Shadow

April 29, 2013 at 7:28 pm | Posted in Dog: Schatzi's Shadow, Sick Puppy | Leave a comment

Our baby girl is still in the Animal Clinic of Monett.  The vet called me this morning – while I was at Walmart – and told me that Shadow had deteriorated so severely that she needed a blood transfusion.  Dr. Callie actually had her husband bring in her own dog to the hospital for Shadow to receive 400 cc of red blood cells.

Things are going to be touch and go for the next 24 hours or so.  When I asked, Dr. Callie said that she couldn’t give us a prognosis.  The best she could say is that if – if – if Shadow can get through this crisis, she has a chance at a good life.  Shadow will tire easily; she will be on medication for the rest of her life.  Dr. Callie said that they’ve had dogs that have been diagnosed with autoimmune hemolytic anemia and they have lived decent lives.

Time is standing still.  This just feels like a bad dream.

Dr. Callie invited us to come and see our puppy girl this evening and the three of us went in around 5:00.  They’ve got Shadow in a kennel that’s so small that she can’t stand up and move around; she’s got an IV in, so she can’t move.  We walked in and I don’t know who hit the floor (on their knees) first, me or Ron.  I started to cry and kiss her and Ron was touching her and talking to her.  My poor puppy girl is so weak; she wagged her tail and she perked up a bit.  Ron said she looked better than she did on Saturday.  Daniel spent a lot of time with her, too.

Around 5:20, Shadow started getting up, so Dr. Callie cut our visit short; it’s dangerous for Shadow to get over excited, so we had to leave.  I didn’t want to go.  It’s like a piece of my heart has been cut out and it’s all the way across town…

I miss my baby.  Dear St. Francis, please, please help our pup get healthy.  We love her so much!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

