Burgers!

May 9, 2013 at 6:20 pm | Posted in Lunch, Main Dish, My Own Creation, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Hamburgers are great for either lunch or supper.  I think that every time I make them, I do something different….just to keep it interesting, know what I mean?

Ingredients:

1 pound hamburger, 85/15

2 tsp. onion powder

2 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

spritz of canola oil

Mix hamburger with seasonings.  Make four hamburgers; I use my hamburger press.  I wish I could remember where I got it from, but can’t.  It’s pretty handy, though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASpritz your skillet with canola oil; not a whole lot, but enough to make a nice shimmer.  Turn stove up on HIGH and let it get really hot because you want to let your burgers get a nice brown.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALower the stove to medium.  Set the burgers in the skillet and leave them for five minutes.  This is the hard part for me, because I want to see how they’re browning.  I pretty much make myself walk away for five minutes.  Okay, if you can survive the five minutes, then flip the burgers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASee the nice sear?  That’s what happens when you leave them be.  Let them sit for another five minutes or so.  Turn off the heat and remove the skillet to a cool place.  Everyone wanted cheese  so I grabbed the cheese, folded it and placed it on the burgers.  Then, I took maybe a couple of tablespoons of water, poured it into the skillet and covered the skillet and let the steam help melt the cheese.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter five minutes, they’re ready for the buns.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYummy – bubbly cheese!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADaniel wanted tater tots and we had them, along with pork and beans.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

