Fish Sticks

May 10, 2013 at 6:52 pm | Posted in Cod, Fish, Japanese Panko, Main Dish, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’ve made these before and they were so delicious, so of course, I had to make them again!  The recipe is courtesy of Leite’s Culinaria.  The first time I made them was just after I dropped my first camera, so there were no pictures of the prep.  Today, I’ve got a new camera, so I’ve got pictures for you!

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 tsp. celery salt – my addition

1 tsp. onion powder – my addition

1 tsp. garlic powder – my addition

3 eggs

2 cups panko

1 pound fish filets – I used cod

canola oil for frying

lemon wedges or ketchup or tartar sauce

Directions:

Slice your fish into pieces that are pretty much the same size; this will make it easier to fry them.  Pat them dry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPour flour onto plate and add salt, pepper, celery salt, onion powder and garlic powder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMix well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACrack eggs into shallow dish; they will need to be beaten well.  I hadn’t beaten them when I took the picture but after the pic, I beat them all up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPour panko into plate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYou will need to pour about 1/4 inch of canola oil into a skillet for frying the fish.  I like Wesson Canola Oil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOkay, so your set-up should be:

seasoned flour

beaten eggs

panko

canola oil in skillet

Turn the skillet on high until it gets nice and hot but before it smokes.  Be careful!  In the meanwhile, take the fish and start the dipping process.

First, flour:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANext, an egg bath:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGet both sides:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFinally, into the panko:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOkay, if the oil is hot, hot, hot, then lower it to medium high and start gently laying each piece of fish into the oil.  Be careful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter about five minutes, flip the fish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALet it fry for another five minutes or so.  If the pieces are a bit thick, you may need to sit them on their sides so that they brown completely and cook thoroughly.  Prepare a dish with a paper towel, so that it will soak up any excess oil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAStart putting the fried fish into the dish; I put mine in the oven on the “Keep Warm” setting while I finished frying all of the pieces.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI made buttery potatoes to go along with the fish; Daniel chose to make corn.  We had a yellow supper LOL

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was good.  There was NO leftover fish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALook at my plate:  I was giggling and told the guys that I made a fish on my plate…can you see it?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

