The Best Pot Roast….EVER!

May 12, 2013 at 6:28 pm | Posted in Beef Chuck Roast, Coca Cola, Crock Pot, Main Dish, Supper, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Yep, that’s what the title of this recipe is: the best pot roast….ever!

Well, let me tell you that there are absolutely NO leftovers tonight and we usually have some meat leftover for sandwiches the next day.  So, that tells me that this just might be the best pot roast ever.  The recipe is courtesy of K’Brina at You’re Too Crafty.  Thank you so much, K’Brina for this delicious recipe.  I’m definitely going to have to make it again.  And again.  And again!

Ingredients:

1 McCormick’s Slow Cookers Savory Pot Roast Seasoning packet

1 McCormick’s Au Jus packet

1 can of Coke

1 boneless chuck roast (K’Brina used a cross rib roast)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Place the roast into the crock pot.  Mix the Slow Cooker Seasoning packet with 1 cup of water and pour over the roast.  Pour in the whole can of Coke.  I didn’t have any cans of Coke, so I just added 12 ounces.  Cover the microwave and set on LOW for 8 hours or HIGH for 4.

I ended up starting late, after Mass, and didn’t want to mess up, so I started it on HIGH for the first 2 hours, then set it on LOW for the remaining 5 hours.  With an hour to go, I peeled some potatoes and added them.

Just before removing the roast to rest for 5 minutes, pour in the Au Jus mix.  I stirred it around so that everything was coated.  Yum!

Remove roast and allow to rest for 5 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was so tender, it fell apart!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe potatoes were yummy – they tasted like the roast.  That’s one of the reasons I toss them in with the meat.  They pick up the flavor so well.

Now, the juices left in the pot needed to be served with the meat, so I grabbed my handy-dandy gravy maker that I purchased at Amazon.  This has to be one of the greatest kitchen inventions ever made!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASee?  You pour in the juices and there are holes on the lid to stop big pieces of meat or fat from falling into the container.  Then you wait a few minutes and the fat rises….then, hold the gravy maker over the gravy dish and squeeze the handle, stopping before any of the fat goes into the dish!  What’ll they think of next?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYum!  Oh, did I already say that?  Okay, well, I said it again.  This was a great roast!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mine is very similar but mine has a packet of onion soup mix and a can of cream of golden mushroom soup – and the can of coke. It’s one of our favorites!!

  2. That sounds good, Ann! Thanks for visiting me!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

