Butter Chicken

May 21, 2013 at 2:58 pm | Posted in Butter, Main Dish, Paula Deen, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’ve made this before, but couldn’t find my original post!  How does that happen?  Anyway, the recipe is courtesy of Haulbur at All Recipes.  The first time I made it, I used Japanese panko; this time, I followed the instructions and used butter crackers (also known as Ritz crackers).  I made a few other changes, too, because if you’ve followed me for long enough, you know by now that I don’t always follow directions.  We had this for supper last night, before the nasty weather hit.

Ingredients:

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup milk

1 cup crushed Ritz crackers

1 pound chicken tenders

sprinkle of black pepper

sprinkle of salt

sprinkle of garlic powder

1/2 cup of butter – the REAL thing!

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Beat eggs and milk together.  Give the chicken tenders a nice bath.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOne at a time, dip the tenders into the cracker crumbs and coat them well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPlace into baking dish.  Sprinkle with pepper, salt and garlic powder.  See that stick of butter that the garlic powder is standing on?  Guess what?  The whole stick is going into the baking dish with the chicken!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow, dice up the butter and set it around the chicken, nice and pretty.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPaula Deen would be proud of me.  My family doctor and my bariatric doctor, not so proud.  Oh, well.  I only had ONE piece.  Back to the instructions:  place into hot oven for 15 minutes.  At the end of 15 minutes, carefully flip the tenders and return to oven for another 10 minutes or so.  Check the temperature with your thermometer; it should read at 160 degrees F.  Remove pan from oven and then remove chicken from dish onto serving plate; let rest for 5 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALook at all that butter – oooh!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI made fresh, roasted asparagus and buttery potatoes (there wasn’t enough butter on the plate already).  I think I had a fingerprint on my camera on the above picture….need to check that!

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

