Steak Dinner in the Crock Pot…Again!

May 21, 2013 at 7:44 pm | Posted in Corn on the Cob, Crock Pot, Heinz 57 Sauce, Main Dish, One-Dish Meal, Potatoes, Steak, Uncategorized | 4 Comments

I made this on April 13 and wasn’t 100% happy with the way it turned out, so decided to try it again.  I’ll point out what I did differently.  Oh, yes, and the recipe is from 5 Dinners in 1 Hour.

Ingredients:

three baking potatoes – scrubbed clean

frozen corn on the cob – I used Green Giant Nibblers (3 Nibblers per person – we love corn)

three steaks – at least 1/2 inch thick or even 3/4 inch would probably be better – I used Top Sirloin

aluminum foil

Heinz 57 Sauce

crock pot

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWrap the potatoes individually in foil, and lay them on the bottom of the crock pot.  Next, I took three Nibblers and wrapped them up in the foil and set them on top of the potatoes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOn top of the potato and corn pile, I added the steaks.  Aren’t they pretty?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow that they’re on the very top, pour some Heinz 57 over them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAUse as little or as much as you wish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASet crock pot on LOW for six hours and walk away.  Don’t come back for 6 hours!  After six hours, dinner should be ready.  Remove the steaks and allow them to rest for five minutes:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGet the veggies out, potatoes first:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen, the corn on the cob, which you should slather in real butter:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now if you recall the meal of  April 13, my potatoes weren’t completely cooked and I ended up popping them into the microwave.  I told myself this time to use SMALLER potatoes and then I wouldn’t have that problem.  So, I purchased smaller bakers but still had the same problem!  They weren’t finished at the end of the six hours.  The potatoes ended up in the microwave for about ten minutes and then they were ready to eat.

While the idea of cooking everything together for six hours is a GREAT idea, it hasn’t worked for me.  If you figure out the trick to this meal, please let me know!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’d like to invite you to join our site http://www.steaks.com . I really enjoy your blog and recipes and I think the over 4,000 unique daily visitors to Steaks will too.
    By joining Steaks.com, we will provide the Nutrition Facts for every recipe you post in which you could customize and add to your blog. Viewers need and love to know the nutritional facts. Its a free service that we offer to blogs and recipes we really love. It looks professional and your members will love it.
    Simply visit http://www.steaks.com or contact me at michelle@erecipe.com. We look forward having you in our network!

  2. Thank you!

  3. Going to try chicken this way and put a tiny bit of water on the bottom of the crock pot to maybe steam the potatoes a little bit so they cook all the way through. I’ll let you know how it goes!

    • Ooh, I never thought about that, Kelly! Please do let me know how it works. Thanks!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

