Corned Beef & Potatoes from the Crock Pot

June 2, 2013 at 8:04 pm | Posted in Crock Pot, Main Dish, My Own Creation, One-Dish Meal, Red Potatoes, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Corned beef isn’t just for St. Patty’s Day. It’s something my carnivores love to eat a lot.

There’s only so much you can do with a corned beef, isn’t there?  I mean, look, it comes in a package with the spices and instructions on how to cook it.  So, you know me, I like to try different things.  Today I was creative with some applesauce!

Ingredients:

One Grobbel’s corned beef, approximately 3 pounds – FLAT CUT

Pickling spices – the ones that come in the bag are useless, I love to use McCormick’s – I didn’t measure

Musselman’s Applesauce, approximately 1/4 cup

1 pound of Klondike Rose Express potatoes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOkay, let me tell you:  buy the FLAT CUT corned beef brisket.  It costs more but it’s less fat and more tender.  It’s worth the extra cost!

Spray the inside of your crock pot with canola oil; set the corned beef inside.  Toss the spice packet that came with it.  Like I said earlier, there’s not enough spices in there to sneeze at.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGrab your McCormick’s Pickling spice and cover the top of the corned beef.  I might have used 1/4 cup.  Now, time for the applesauce.  You can spoon some on top and then spread it out or if you’re brave, just pour it on and then spread it out.  Make sure you cover the entire top of the corned beef.  Set it on LOW and if you’re a lucky cook and have a timer on your crock pot, set it for at least 8 hours.  Now, go read a book, go to a Pampered Chef party (like me) or just take a nap.

Before you leave the Pampered Chef party, phone home and tell your teenager to put the little red potatoes in the crock pot, making sure you tell him to make them all the same size.  I told mine to eye-ball the smallest one and then slice them up accordingly, and then to turn the crock pot on HIGH.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI like to use Klondike Rose Express potatoes; they’re called express because you can nuke them but they deserve to cook in with the corned beef.  That way, they can soak up the corny goodness!

Once you get home, whip up some cornmeal muffins (from a mix, thank you, Martha White!) and get some green beans out of the freezer.

Take the corned beef out of the crock pot 5 minutes before the muffins are finished; the potatoes should be done soon.  It typically takes them 30 minutes to cook on HIGH.  Poke them with a fork to test for doneness.

It's resting!

It’s resting!

Can you see the top of the corned beef?  There’s a layer of spices along with the applesauce.  My teen was curious to know what was on top.  I took my fork and a tiny bite and told him it was spicy applesauce.  Did he take a tiny bite?  Of course not.  He took a big bite and then drank down half his glass of water.  He learned that when I say spicy that I mean spicy.

Take the potatoes out of the crock pot and put them into a serving bowl; add some butter and salt to taste.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATake the muffins out of the oven when they’re finished:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGet the green beans out of the microwave (yes, I fix mine in the microwave) and put them on the table and holler at everyone to come and get it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARemember to get the mustard out of the fridge (it must be Plochmann’s or I’ll hear complaints) and the honey so that the teenager can OD on honey with his corn bread muffins.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEnjoy!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

