A-1 Roast, My Way

June 3, 2013 at 6:48 pm | Posted in Main Dish, My Own Creation, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

We are carnivores.  If you’ve read my blog long enough, you’ll have learned that we eat meat a LOT.  Rarely do we eat salads with no meat.  It happens, but not often.  My son loves A1 Steak Sauce and for the past few months has been asking me to make the recipe that’s on the Steak Sauce bottle.  I finally gave in and purchased a chuck steak and a bottle of A1 specifically for the purpose of making this.  Imagine my surprise today when I took my roast out of the fridge and picked up the bottle and discovered that the recipe was NOT on the bottle!  It had a different recipe.  Well, I didn’t have time to run to the computer and look it up, so I created my own A-1 Roast.  If you’re curious, HERE is their recipe.  What follows is mine.

Ingredients:

1 chuck roast, approximately 3 pounds

1 bottle of A-1 Thick & Hearty Steak Sauce (10 ounces)

1/2 cup water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Spray deep, oven-safe pot with canola oil.  Place chuck roast in pot.  Mix steak sauce with water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPour mixture over roast; cover tightly and place into hot oven.  Bake for 2 hours; check water level and at time, I filled the empty sauce bottle with hot water, shook it up and poured it into the pot.  I also basted the roast.  Return (covered) to oven for another 30 minutes.

Remove from oven and allow to rest 5 minutes before carving.

Serve with real smashed potatoes, fresh tomatoes and carrots.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

