Chicken Quesadillas

June 6, 2013 at 7:22 pm | Posted in Cheese, Main Dish, Mexican, My Own Creation, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

We had chicken quesadillas for supper last night.  I’ve been eating Mexican food all of my life but had never heard of quesadillas until I went into a restaurant one day and saw them on the menu.  Same with fajitas.  My mom makes authentic Mexican food, including her own flour tortillas.  I grew up watching my paternal grandmother making corn tortillas and nopales (cactus).  So, what’s a quesadilla?  It’s a tortilla (either flour or corn) stuffed with meat and cheese and grilled.

This is my recipe for chicken quesadillas.

Ingredients:

Chicken – I purchased John Soules Fully Cooked Chicken Strips, 8 ounces

Corn tortillas – Mama Lupe’s Corn Tortillas, 20 per package

Canola Oil – I like Wesson

Shredded cheddar – yes, I was lazy today and used pre-shredded cheese

Ranchero Queso Fresco

McCormick’s Cilantro and Cumin (in Spanish, it’s comino)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOkay!  Time to get to work – I also refried beans and made Mexican rice (courtesy of Rice A Roni), so I had all four burners going at the same time, plus the oven was on.  I felt like a juggler!

First thing:  Preheat oven to 350 degress F.  Now, put some canola oil into a small skillet and heat up the chicken tenders.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs they heated, I sprinkled them with cilantro and comino (maybe 1/4 tsp. of each?) and also broke them into smaller pieces.  When the chicken was hot, I set the skillet on a towel on the counter top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI grabbed a couple of cookie sheets and sprayed one with canola oil, poured some canola oil into my square pan and heated it up on medium heat.  When it was hot, I tossed in two corn tortillas and let them get a tiny bit crispy.  Then, I flipped them over and added chicken and cheddar and queso fresco to one of them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI let that get hot and melty and then covered it with the second tortilla.  Next, I carefully picked it up with a big pancake flipper and place it on the sprayed cookie sheet.  Three of these quesadillas fit on my first cookie sheet; the cookie sheet went into the oven while I finished up with the remaining chicken and cheese.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had enough chicken to make two more:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI put the second cookie sheet into the oven and lowered the heat  to 200 degrees F just so they’d stay hot while the rice finished cooking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYum!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAUse a pizza cutter to slice – they were a bit thick with cheese and chicken!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAServe with salsa and sour cream, along with the rice and beans.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADelicious – even if I didn’t grow up eating them!  I wonder if my mom would eat them?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

