Cube Steaks with Gravy and Rice

June 10, 2013 at 6:06 pm | Posted in Beef Cube Steak, Main Dish, My Own Creation, Pasta, Rice, Side Dish | 2 Comments

I haven’t fixed cube steaks in a long, long time!  So, the other day when I ran to the grocery store without a list (I know, dangerous!) and I saw a package, I grabbed them.  I knew there was a jar or two of beef gravy in the lazy susan and they would be perfect with the cube steaks.

Ingredients:

4 Beef cube steaks

2 jars Heinz Savory Beef Gravy (of course you can use more or less, depending on size of cube steaks)

2 tbsp. Canola oil

Salt and pepper

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAShake salt and pepper to both sides of the cube steaks.  Warm the skillet on medium-high heat and add the canola oil.  Place the steaks in the skillet and brown them on one side for about 5 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFlip them and let them brown for another 5 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI grabbed my baster at this time and used it to get all of the grease out of the pan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASee how much grease there was?  Okay, now add the gravy:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHmm, is one jar enough?  Nope, let’s add the other.  Turn the heat to simmer, cover and let the meat simmer for about 10 minutes; flip the steaks and let them simmer (covered) for another 10.  Put into serving dish with a pair of tongs to grab the meat and a spoon for the gravy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI made white rice to go along with the cube steaks.  Instead of just using plain water to boil the rice, I added a vegetable packet to the water for extra flavoring.  I love using Knorr’s Homestyle Stock and Broth packets.  See how pretty the rice turned out?  And it was extra-healthy with the veggie broth!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOh, yes, and I had green beans and biscuits to serve alongside the cube steaks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARon really liked the rice.  It was a pretty nice change from our usual meals.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve never tried cube steak in my life (isn’t that odd?) and this sounds good!

  2. It is good! I’m not sure which part of the cow it comes from, but it’s great with gravy and rice or potatoes.

    Thanks for visiting!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

