Sausage & Potatoes and Roasted Corn

June 11, 2013 at 7:02 pm | Posted in Beef Smoked Sausage, Corn, Potatoes, Supper, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I found this on Pinterest and followed the Pin to Forkful of Comfort.  I loved Kristen’s website and the title just grabbed me.  Who doesn’t want to eat a forkful of comfort food?  I have to admit that comfort food rocks!

I didn’t use russet potatoes, I used red potatoes with their skins on.  Since my teenager hates onions, I used onion powder.   Also, I did some stuff out of order from the directions Kristen gave.  The dish still turned out awesome – there were NO leftovers!

Ingredients:

13 ounce package of Eckrich Beef Smoked Sausage

4 red potatoes, unpeeled

1 garlic clove

2 tbsp. onion powder

2 dashes of hot sauce

1 1/2 tsp. sage

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASee?  I had grabbed the onion but then remembered that someone would be unhappy if he found onion in his supper.  It’s tough cooking for a picky teenager sometimes.  Oh, well…on with the recipe!

Wash the reds and slice them really thin – you can use a mandoline if you’ve got one or just do it yourself.  Pour the canola oil into a skillet on medium-high heat and add the potatoes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had a nice layer of potatoes.  It’s always a challenge to know how many to use because my husband’s on chemo and sometimes he likes potatoes but sometimes he doesn’t.  At this time, I minced the garlic on top of the potatoes, added the onion powder and sage and my hot sauce.  Then I mixed up the potatoes so all of the flavorings danced in the pan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had help tonight in the kitchen.  This is Schatzi’s Shadow, known to us as Shadow or Puppy Girl.  She kept her eyes on me as I sliced and minced.

Let the potatoes brown for about 10 minutes, then flip them and let them brown for another 5 minutes.  Time for the smoked sausage! Slice it into small coins and toss them into the pan with the potatoes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWoo!  Looks good – and this was just one of the sausage links!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere’s the skillet with all of the sausage.  Mix it all up and let it heat on medium-high for about 5 minutes, just long enough for the sausage to get hot and browned a bit.  Smells like heaven!

Okay, while the meat and potatoes were cooking, I roasted some frozen corn.  Another win from Pinterest!  The recipe is on Lisa’s blog, Blogghetti.  Lisa broiled hers – I was worried about keeping an eye on the corn in addition to the stove top, so I did it different.  It’s so simple!  The only mistake I made was NOT making ENOUGH!

Ingredients:

Frozen corn – for 3

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Parsley (my addition)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPlace corn in oven-safe baker and set in hot oven for about 15 minutes.  Done!

I think that next time I will:

  1. make more corn
  2. use a cookie sheet for the corn
  3. make more potatoes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASupper was so good!  And it was colorful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~ Patty

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is the kind of meal I’d enjoy right now…ahhhh, I can almost smell it. 🙂 yum!

  2. It was yummy and so easy to make!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

