5 Minute Friday: LISTEN

June 13, 2013 at 11:37 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Listen, Uncategorized | 6 Comments

5-minute-friday-1

 

It’s 12:00 midnight where Lisa-Jo Baker is, so she’s posted the word for the week; it’s not quite midnight here but I’m jumping in anyway!  For those of you who’d like to play along, what we do is take the word for the week and write…no editing, no backtracking, just brainstorm.

Click on Lisa’s button above for this week’s page and all of the links of everyone else who joins in.

Now it’s time for me to stop thinking about how to do this – and time for me to START:

LISTEN

What do you hear?

I hear my iPod.  I’m listening to Barry Manilow singing, “If I Should Love Again.”

I hear the noises of the night here in my home.  My teenage son is in his bed and has his radio on; he claims he can’t go to sleep without it.  I hear the television downstairs; my husband is watching one of his shows.  I hear the dog outside; I just put her out and already she wants back in.

But if I stop, there is a small, small voice inside of me.

It’s the memory of everyone I’ve ever listened to.

Sometimes I can hear my brother teasing me; there were only two of us growing up and we took turns teasing each other and being mean to each other and being best friends.

Sometimes I can hear my mom in the kitchen; I can hear her voice telling me to wake up and get ready for school.

I can barely remember my dad’s voice.  He died in 1991.  I wish I could remember the sound of his voice.  I can remember some of the things he used to tell me but my memory of the sound of his voice is going away and that makes me sad.

I want to listen better to my husband; to my son.  Life is precious.  My husband has lived with kidney cancer for six years; that’s incredible.  I record him on the camera and the video recorder, so that we can always remember the sound of his voice.  I want to remember hearing him forever.

I love listening to him telling me that he loves me; I love listening to my son telling me he loves me and that I’m the best mom in the whole wide world.

Now I’m listening to Kermit the Frog singing “The Rainbow Connection” on my iPod.

STOP

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love how you collected all these memories and shared them here. And I love that you are collecting those memories of your husband, should there ever come a time you need to remember him. Thank you for sharing your 5 minutes with us.

  2. Thank you for visiting! and for your sweet words.

  3. what wonderful listening memories all collected together! lovely.

    • Thanks, Richelle!

  4. Dear Patty
    My father-in-law also had kidney cancer and had only a quarter of one kidney left after they have cut the cancerous parts away. Yet, he lived for about 30 years afterwards and never had problems again with the kidneys! I hope your husband is also well now.
    Much love XX
    Mia

  5. Thanks, MiaMia. We hope for the best and love him the best we can; only God knows when it’s time to go.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

