5 Minute Friday: RHYTHM

June 21, 2013 at 2:59 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Rhythm, Uncategorized | 4 Comments

5-minute-friday-1It’s Friday and you know what that means:  5 Minute Friday with Lisa Jo Baker and everyone else!  Here are the details of how it started at Tales from a Gypsy Mama.

And, now for this week:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

OK, are you ready? Please give us your best five minutes on the word:::

Rhythm…

GO!

When I think of the word rhythm, I think of life with my newborn.

Of course, this newborn just turned 14, but I can remember learning out how to live in sync, especially when it came to nursing him and answering his needs.

My husband and I believed in attachment parenting; that meant baby-wearing, breastfeeding on demand, family bed, cloth diapers, positive discipline, etc.

Breastfeeding was a challenge; I read many books about it, especially from La Leche League and I had a friend whose daughter was just over three months older than my baby, so I had “watched” from a distance.

Suddenly, it was my turn.  How do I do this?  In the hospital, the night he was born, one nurse told me, “Just nurse him for 5 minutes on one breast, pop him off and then nurse him on the other!”

Well, I tried that and ended up with a crying newborn and didn’t know how to latch him onto my other breast. Finally, after I was in tears along with my newborn, I got him latched on, nursing again and from that moment on, didn’t listen to any of the hospital nurses.

Onto life at home with a newborn:  I needed to learn so many things about being a mommy.  Those early days and weeks and months I refer to as learning how to dance with my son.  He needed to learn and I needed to learn and together we created our own rhythm of needs and wants.

Whenever I meet a new mom who is being challenged, whether it’s with nursing or “just” becoming a new mama, I tell her that motherhood is a dance.  She needs to learn the steps and so does her baby.  I imagine that the steps are different for each baby you give birth to.

Nowadays this teenage boy has a rhythm alright – one of his own.  We’ve always encouraged him to dance to the beat of his own drum and he’s fulfilling our wishes.

Sometimes you need to be careful what you wish for though LOL because parenting a teen is a real job!

STOP!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dear Patti
    Yes, we do well when we, as new moms, listen to all the advice that are offered and then go and learn how to dance with your baby to the rhythm of new life; something that no one can teach you, but that comes naturally.
    Much love xx
    Mia

  2. Thank for visiting me again, Mia.
    Patty

  3. Ah sweet newborn memories! I’ll be there again myself this August. I can’t decide if I’m ready or not!

  4. Ooh, those newborn days! I love to just snuggle and sniff the new bitty ones. Have a wonderful remainder-of-your-pregnancy and enjoy!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

