Linguine with Garlicky Breadcrumbs

June 24, 2013 at 6:07 pm | Posted in Garlic, Italian, Main Dish, Meatless Monday, One-Dish Meal, Pasta, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I have to admit that the reason I jumped all over this recipe had to do with the title more than anything else.  I am a garlic fiend.  Ask my husband.  There are evenings he walks into the kitchen with a gas mask on because I’ve minced more garlic than you can shake a stick at LOL

Well, this recipe calls for SIX minced cloves, so I knew I’d love it and I knew he’d react.  So, here goes nothing!

The recipe is courtesy of  My Recipes and had been in the August 2003 edition of Cooking Light.  I might have messed up the “light” part by adding more olive oil, though.  Oh, well.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup plain breadcrumbs – make your own, per the recipe instructions or do like me and cheat

4 tbsp. olive oil, divided

6 garlic cloves

8 ounces uncooked linguine

1/4 cup fresh parsley – or 1/8 cup dried, which is what I used

2 tsp. fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI measured out 2/3 cup of plain bread crumbs.  The original recipe says that you should toast your bread in the oven after making it into breadcrumbs with your food processor.  You know what?  That sounds like a LOT of work for 2/3 cup of breadcrumbs!  So I cheated and poured out 2/3 cup of plain old bread crumbs.  Ta-da!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADon’t go any further until your water boils and you get your pasta cooking – NO salt is necessary because you’re going to add seasonings to the finished product.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow, warm about 2 tbsp. olive oil in a skillet and then add the garlic.  Let them blend for about 30 seconds or so, stirring and stirring so that the garlic doesn’t burn.  Oooh, look at all of that lovely garlic!  Hubby came into the kitchen and said, “Wow, I smell garlic!” and then peeked into the skillet and asked me, “What are you making?” so I told him.  He said, “Hmm, sounds good.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOkay, back to the recipe:  remove the skillet and let the oil and garlic flavors meld for about 5 minutes.  Your pasta should be near to getting finished to al dente.  Now, you can return the skillet to the burner and turn back on medium and let it get warmed up again so that you can add the breadcrumbs.  Mix up gently.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALooks like a lot, but trust me, it’s not.

My linguine wasn’t quite ready, so I mixed up the parsley, fresh lemon juice, salt and pepper in the serving bowl; then I added the bread crumbs and mixed everything up together.  And now, this is when I added the extra 2 tbsp. of olive oil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADrain pasta and add to bowl; gently fold breadcrumb mixture into linguine.  Stir gently.  My son took this picture for me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAh, now it’s ready for serving!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI bought a head of lettuce at the grocery store and served that alongside the linguine.  No fancy salad today, just lettuce and tomato.  Hmm, should have thrown in some bacon bits…could have had BLT salads.  Oh, well, maybe next time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhen I asked the guys what they thought, they agreed that the garlic wasn’t overwhelming.  In fact, the teen said, “It could use more.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe kid’s a genius.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

