Mississippi Roast (Again!)

June 25, 2013 at 5:54 pm | Posted in Beef Chuck Roast, Crock Pot, Main Dish, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

We had Mississippi Roast once before and it was delicious.  I decided to make it today because we were going to be in the city for most of the morning and I knew I’d be coming home tired and not wanting to do a lot of work.  Thank goodness for crock pots!  I did something different for this one, though, as you’ll see as you read along:

Ingredients:

1 beef chuck roast, about 3 pounds more or less

1 package of Hidden Valley® Salad Dressing and Seasoning Mix

1 package of McCormick Au Jus Gravy Mix

1 stick of butter

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASpray the crock pot with canola oil, to help prevent sticking and to help with clean up.

The first time I made this roast, I followed the directions, which read to pour the packet of Ranch dressing on top of the roast, followed by the au jus packet, followed by topping the roast with the stick of butter.  This time, however, I stirred together the salad dressing mix with the au jus gravy mix.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI also forgot to use the pepperocini – silly me!  That’s what I get for being in a hurry in the morning, I suppose.

Anyway – set the crock pot on LOW and let it cook for at least 8 hours.  Let the roast rest for about 5 minutes before serving.  This is the time I use to smash the potatoes and heat up the veggies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATime to eat!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI liked the roast better this way.  The ranch dressing flavor was mixed in with the juicy gravy and it wasn’t as strong as the first time I made the Mississippi roast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

