5 Minute Friday: In Between

June 28, 2013 at 7:06 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, In Between, Uncategorized | 8 Comments

5-minute-friday-1

It’s Friday and time for Lisa Jo Baker’s 5 Minute Friday.  For information, click on the button above.  Meanwhile, I’ll take my 5 minutes and write about the following:

In Between

GO:

Wow, the first thing to pop into my mind is “in between a rock and a hard place” and that’s not very positive at all, is it?
But yet, how many times have I found myself there?  Many times, because of my own doing.
Too many.
It doesn’t matter how I got there, what matters is getting OUT from between that rock and the hard place and there’s only one way that I know of.
Through the help of our Lord.
My husband is having surgery on Tuesday; just right now as we were finishing up supper, he was telling me he felt a bit “down” and that it was probably due to surgery.  I told him that we needed to keep praying, to trust in God and the surgeon and his team.  We’ve done the research, we know that Ron needs the surgery.  We trust the surgeon.  We trust God.  I told him that he needed to practice “Let Go and Let God” just as he’s told me so many times over the years.
I don’t need to stay between a rock and a hard place for very long these days.  Not as long as I remember to call on God to rescue me.
That reminds me of the joke about the guy on the roof of his house during the flood.  A helicopter came by and they lowered a rope and said, “Grab it!”and he refused.  Then a boat came by and they threw a life preserver at him and said, “Grab it!” and he still refused.  Well, he ended up drowning and when he reached Heaven, he told God, “I waited for You to rescue me and You didn’t come!”  Well, God shook His head and said, “I sent help twice.  Twice you refused.”
He doesn’t always come in a burning bush or in a helicopter but He’s always here for me.  Thank You, God, for rescuing me.
8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Praying for you and your dear husband.

    • Thank you, shortybear, the prayers are appreciated.

  2. I will pray for your husband. and the relief of getting out of being in that in between place.

    • Thank you, I appreciate the prayers!

  3. Dear sweet Patti
    Please keep in us informed about your husband’s opp. Your words reminds me of another saying, Between the devil and the deep blue sea!
    Much love x
    Mia

    • Thank you, Mia. I will be taking my iPod to the hospital, plus they have computers, so I can update.

  4. Hi Patty, I love your wise words here. Your confidence and trust in God made my heart smile. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and I’ll keep your husband in prayer for his upcoming surgery. ~Tanya, visiting from FMF.

  5. Thank you, Tanya, for your sweet words and for the visit.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

