Baked Rigatoni

June 29, 2013 at 7:32 pm | Posted in Italian, Main Dish, My Own Creation, Pasta, Spaghetti Sauce, Supper, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Tonight for supper, I grabbed the container of spaghetti sauce from the other night and used it to make baked Rigatoni.  It was yummy!

Ingredients:

Spaghetti sauce

Rigatoni pasta

Fresh mozzarella cheeseOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIgnore the tomato sauce can – I wasn’t sure if I’d need it and ended up NOT using it at all.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Boil salted water and cook your pasta.  I boiled a couple of cups of pasta and always boil it for 5 minutes less than called for on the pasta box since it’s going to continue baking in the oven.

Spray the bottom and sides of an 8×8 dish with canola oil and spread a layer of spaghetti sauce on the bottom.  Top with some fresh mozzarella.  I know, in the past I’ve used the bagged and shredded mozzarella but when I have a choice and can find it, I love to use FRESH mozzarella.  Sometimes the store has it, either in pearls or sliced.  I got lucky when I went to Walmart and found it sliced!  I used two slices:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADrain the rigatoni.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASpoon about half of it out, on top of the cheese.  Top with more sauce and cheese.  Then, the remainder of the rigatoni, more sauce and more cheese.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPop into hot oven, covered, for about 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, carefully uncover and bake for another 15.  Let it sit for about 5 minutes before digging in.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASuper delicious!  Serve with Italian bread and a salad.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had enough spaghetti sauce leftover and it was marked and put into the freezer downstairs for more meals!

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

