Grilled Lemon Herb Pork Chops & Taters

July 1, 2013 at 7:03 pm | Posted in Grilling Out, Main Dish, Pork Chops, Potatoes, Supper, Uncategorized, Veggies | Leave a comment

The recipe for the Grilled Lemon Herb Pork Chops is from AllRecipes, courtesy of Doreenbuch.  They were so simple!  What I loved best about the recipe is that I had everything already in the pantry, including  fresh lemons for the marinade.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup lemon juice – I used fresh lemons

2 tbsp. canola oil

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. oregano

1/4 tsp. pepper

4 chopsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACombine lemon juice, oil, garlic, oregano and salt and pepper in a large resealable bag.  Add the chops.  Seal and refrigerate overnight or at least two hours.  I let my chops marinate for around six hours.  Turn bag occasionally so that the marinade flavors all of the chops.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPreheat the grill outside.  The original recipe said to keep the marinade and boil it, so that you can baste the chops as they grill.  I didn’t do this.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI wanted potatoes to go along with the chops, and wasn’t sure how long it would take them to get finished, so I cheated and used my microwave.  I scrubbed a couple of potatoes and poked them and then microwaved them for about five minutes.  Then, I sliced them, spritzed them with canola oil and tossed them onto the grill with the chops. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt took about 10 minutes per side to cook the chops.  The taters were pretty well cooked but I wanted them to get the charcoal flavor and grill marks.  One potato tried to commit suicide by diving into the charcoal but I rescued it and ate it.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYum – I served the chops and taters with applesauce.  Next time, we need more taters.  You can never have too many taters.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADeliciously smoky-flavored chops and potatoes.  I am really loving this grilling.  What I want is to find a really, really good cook book on grilling.  Any ideas?  Please let me know in the COMMENTS below if you’ve got a fave!

Thanks!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

