5 Minute Friday: Present

July 12, 2013 at 6:45 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Present | 14 Comments

It’s Friday again!  You know what that means:5-minute-friday-1

If you want to play along, click on the above graphic for information.

This week’s word prompt is PRESENT.

GO!

Okay, present.  That could be used as a noun….as in Christmas present, or a birthday present.

It can also be used as an adjective….as in “Is everyone present?”

Well, a lot of people I know, especially youngsters, like the noun and could probably care less about the adjective, but speaking as a parent, I think that the adjective is much more important.

Are you the kind of parent that is present for their child?  Am I the kind of mom who is present for her child when he needs me?

I have to admit that sometimes I’m not.  I get caught up in blogging, or reading, or cooking and don’t pay attention when he wants me or needs me.  Sometimes – especially now that he’s a teenager (14), I think he can tend to himself and that he doesn’t need me as much as he did as a toddler.  Sometimes that’s true.  But that’s no excuse for me to just ignore him, is it?

Maybe I can combine the noun with the adjective and think that my being present for him is a present to him.

Being a mom is a gift.  I can share myself with my only child….oh, wait, yes, with my teenager….sometimes I forget how old he is and that he is a gift to my husband and I, the one that God sent to us.

Present.

I think that tonight after I am finished blogging and he is finished with his kitchen chores, I will present myself to him and ask what he wants to do for a while, just he and I.

Present.

STOP!

 

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a sweet and insightful post. Blessings, Kasey

  2. Thank you Kasey for your kind words, and thanks for visiting me.

  3. Lovely and genuine. A good parent is one who recognizes such things.

    • Thank you! I think that because we had to WAIT forever to have our son – he was born 27 days after our 12th anniversary, my husband and I are more sensitive to our needs. Thanks for visiting 🙂

  4. Enjoyed your post.

    • Thank you, shortybear! I appreciate your visiting 🙂

  5. Beautiful post! So glad you stopped by my place, so excited to read more from you!!

    • Thank you, Ashley:)

  6. I loved that you added present as a verb at the very end! Thanks for this encouragement today!

    • You’re welcome – I’m amazed that I could encourage you and very grateful that God has used me to do this 🙂

  7. Dear Patti
    Not to worry, dear friend! My two are 21 and 23 years old, but they are still my babies and they have sort of come to peace with the fact that moms actually never stops mothering!
    Blessings
    Mia

    • Oh, Mia, I hear you! He’ll forever be my baby – just like my mom says I’m her baby – and I’m going to be 52 in October LOL

  8. Oh, I loved what you said on my blog-thank you for visiting! And you are right…it is easy to think that when they are older that they don’t need us-not the same, but to me teenagers are just “bigger” kids. I am so encouraged by your words here.

  9. Thank you, Dionne, for your kind words. Again, I’m so glad that God used me as a tool to encourage another mom 🙂


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

