Fried Chicken Wingettes

July 12, 2013 at 6:15 pm | Posted in Chicken, Dinner, Main Dish, My Own Creation, Salt Brining | Leave a comment

We love fried chicken.  I don’t make it TOO often since none of us need the oil from frying, but when I make it, I make it early in the day so I can pop it into the fridge and let it get cold before dinner.  That’s the way my guys love it best.

This was the first time I’ve brined chicken.  I think it turned out good.

Ingredients:

1 package of chicken wingettes

water to cover

1/4 cup saltOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI put it in the fridge for just a couple of hours.  Then, I gathered the other ingredients:

2 cups flour (divided)

1 egg

one 12-ounce can of Carnation Evaporated Milk

4 tbsp. McCormick Perfect Pinch Chicken Seasoning (divided)

three containers:  one for one cup flour and two tbsp. of seasoning mix; second for egg and evaporated milk; third for cup of flour and remaining chicken seasoning.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYou’ll also need a nice heavy skillet (preferably cast iron, although I need a new one)

Canola oil:  I don’t measure, I just eye-ball it to where it looks like 1/4 inch

Okay, onto the dipping and frying part….after pouring canola oil into skillet, turn it to medium HIGH and when a splash of water dances around, you’re ready to start dipping.  Dip chicken, one piece at a time.

Flour mixture first:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen into the egg and milk bath:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd finally into the last flour mixture:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen, into the hot oil:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADon’t overcrowd the chicken.  Turn stove to Medium  LOW.  Let it fry for about 8 minutes, then flip it over.  Let it fry for another 8 minutes or so.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You absolutely, positively have to get your meat thermometer out and test EACH piece of chicken and make sure they are at least 160 degrees F.  I can’t imagine how sick anyone could get eating raw chicken and don’t want to.

Continue with all of the chicken, placing on paper towels to drain.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs the first batch of wingettes fried, I dipped the other wingettes and they sat on a plate waiting their turn to get fried. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOnce you’ve removed the first batch of chicken, turn the heat up to medium HIGH to let it get ready for the next batch.  Once it’s hot enough for a drop of water to do its dance, put the chicken in the oil and turn the heat back down.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFrying chicken can be really messy but it’s so delicious.  I completed our dinner with smashed potatoes and corn.

Oh and for those of you who know me well, I usually DO NOT purchase from Nestle.  I’ve been boycotting them since learning about their underhanded ways of tricking breastfeeding moms into using formula (read “Milk, Money and Madness” if you can and you’ll see why) but I don’t like the generic evaporated milk and our Walmart doesn’t sell any different brands.  Regular milk just doesn’t have the creaminess that I love in the evaporated milk.

Maybe I should buy my own cow?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

