5 Minute Friday: Broken

July 26, 2013 at 2:41 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Broken | 4 Comments

My brain is distracted with worry over my husband and his pneumonia, but I’ve decided to take a break and do my 5 Minute Friday.  For the rules, visit Lisa Jo Baker’s webpage.

5-minute-friday-1

 

Time to stop thinking and time to write…this week’s word prompt is BROKEN.

This week I feel broken.  My heart is breaking for my husband.  You see, he has kidney cancer.  And for those of you who don’t know, kidney cancer does not go into remission.  It can go into hiding for a while, just like his did.  When he was diagnosed, he had his right kidney removed and we thought that was the end of the story.  But it wasn’t.  The cancer came back in his left tibia (knee) and after radiation, that cleared up but then it was discovered in his lungs.  And he has a questionable spot on his pancreas.

He’s got pneumonia this week.  Again.

He feels broken, too, I’m sure.  I’ve been trying to get him to nibble on food that he doesn’t want; trying to get him to drink, drink, drink anything and everything so that he won’t get dehydrated.  He is probably tired of me telling him to eat and drink.  He is probably tired of this pneumonia and the cancer and everything that goes along with it.

The only reason we aren’t totally broken is that we have Faith.  We know that somehow, no matter what, God is in control.  This is so hard to hang onto sometimes but we have to trust Him.  Without God, there’s no point in continuing.

So, maybe instead of being broken, we’re just bent.  Again.  How far can a person bend before they break?  I don’t know.  We’ve been bending back and forth since 2007.  Bent up and down, back and forth, every which way but we’re still hanging on.  To each other.  Most especially to God.

STOP.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dear Patty
    Oh, how I wish I could be with you and just hug you!! Words seem too little when I wish I could help you carry your burden. My heart goes out to you, dear friend.
    Much love XX
    Mia

    • Thank you, Mia, I appreciate your sweet words.

  2. Praying for you and your husband right now. Found you via Five Minute Friday and so glad that I did. Just did my first at http://www.dancinmoma.wordpress.com. It’s amazing how the word “Broken” can stir up so many emotions. Following you now as well. God Bless! 🙂

    • Thank you, Dancinmoma, and welcome to 5 Minute Friday – I’m off to read your post!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

