5 Minute Friday: Last

August 23, 2013 at 12:41 am | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Etta James, Last, Song Lyrics | 5 Comments

5-minute-friday-1Time to play along with the gang at Lisa Jo Baker’s blog, “Tales From a Gypsy Mama” and 5 Minute Friday.

This week’s word prompt is:  LAST and before I go any further, I have to admit that the first thing that popped into my mind was a SONG, and so I took the time to find the lyrics to share.  So, I may go over my 5 minutes.

This beautiful song is sung by Etta James and was written by Harry Warren and Mack Gordon.

AT LAST

At last
My love has come along
My lonely days are over
And life is like a song

At last
The skies above are blue
My heart was wrapped up in clover
The night I looked at you

I found a dream, that I could speak to
A dream that I, can call my own
I found a thrill, to press my cheek to
A thrill that I, have never known

You smiled, you smiled
And then the spell was cast
And here we are in heaven
For you are mine at last

I found a dream
That I could speak to
A dream that I can call my own
I found a thrill, to press my cheek to
A thrill that I, have never known

You smiled you smiled
And then the spell was cast
And here we are in heaven
For you are mine
At lastEtta JamesI remember the first time I heard this song.  I was buying songs for my iPod Touch that hubby gave me for Christmas and wanted some romantic stuff.  He recommended Etta James.  I had never heard of her.  He told me to find “At Last” and wow, I’m glad he did.  It just fits right with the way I feel about my husband, my beloved.

I never imagined or dreamed that I could or would love someone as much as I love him.  Our love story is rather funny in that a week before we met, I was a bridesmaid at my best friend’s wedding and during a break between the reception and dance, another friend and I were at McDonald’s and we both declared that we would NEVER, ever, ever, ever fall in love again.  One week later, I met Ron. Lesson:  never say never!   At last, my dreams have all come true.
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love Etta James. I was introduced to her years ago when seeing some concert on PBS ( I think it was a live at the house of blues one). I also like a song she sings called “Sugar on the Floor (referring to a bag of sugar that spilled)”. Isn’t it wonderful when things work out better than we ever imagined?

    • Oh, yes, it was almost magical, the way we met and fell in love. I know that God had His hand in it and He still does, 26 years later!

  2. Especially when we least expect them! Love is such a gift from God, I still think it’s amazing that He matched me with the man of my dreams 🙂

  3. Hi Patty,
    Thanks for visiting my blog and what a wonderful song…so happy you and your hubby are together 🙂 Blessings 🙂

    • Thank you, Dolly! 🙂


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

