Dr. Pepper Roast

August 24, 2013 at 7:24 pm | Posted in Crock Pot, Dr. Pepper, Main Dish, Supper, Veggies | Leave a comment

I have to be honest.  I made this the other night and it was an epic FAIL.  Instead of cooking it in the crock pot, I tossed it into the oven and went my merry way.

BIG mistake.  By the time I got home, it was burnt to a crisp.

So, today, I used my handy-dandy crock pot and it turned out very well.  Never again will I attempt to make a crock pot roast with so much SUGAR in a regular pot in the oven.

By the way, I need to give credit where credit is due:  the original recipe is courtesy of Robyn at Add a Pinch.

Ingredients:

1 chuck roast (mine was almost 4 pounds)

Dr. Pepper, 1 cup to start with

1 cup water

3 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 pound of Melissa’s Baby Dutch Yellow Potatoes

Place roast in crock pot and cover with Dr. Pepper and water and Worcestershire sauce.  Cook on LOW for about 6 hours.  At the end of 6 hours, turn heat to HIGH and add baby potatoes.  At this time, you may want to add more Dr. Pepper.  Cook for 1 hour.

Remove roast from crock pot and allow to rest for 5 minutes.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had fresh green beans:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand of course the baby potatoes:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAand biscuits:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYum!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was very delish!

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

