Ham & Roasted Potatoes

August 27, 2013 at 4:19 pm | Posted in Ham, Lodge Cast Iron, Main Dish, Potatoes, Supper, Sweet Potatoes, Veggies | Leave a comment

Last night (yes, I’m late) I fixed a slice of ham and some roasted potatoes.  Hubby doesn’t always like potatoes – it’s that chemo that turns his appetite off.  Daniel and I love potatoes and rice, so I try and switch up my sides since hubby likes rice more than potatoes.  Tonight I’m making a dish with macaroni and cheese, so hopefully everyone will be happy.

Okay, back to last night!

Ingredients for Roasted Potatoes:

1 large sweet potato

2 medium russet potatoes

canola oil, maybe 2 tbsp. or so

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPeel and slice the potatoes into even pieces; place into plastic bag with about 3 tbsp. of canola oil.  Gently swish the bag around so that the potato pieces get coated with the canola oil.  Spray a baking dish with a bit of canola oil and pour potatoes in.  Add salt and pepper.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPlace (uncovered) into hot oven for about 15 minutes.  After 15 minutes, remove from oven and use a spatula to slide them around and flip them, so that they get brown all over.

Return to oven for another 15 minutes.  Meanwhile, you can get the ham slice ready.  Since it’s precooked it only takes about 8-10 minutes.

Ingredients:

1 slice of ham steak, I like the Cook’s Brown Sugar Ham Steak

1 can of sliced Dole Pineapple (20 ounces) in its own juice

3 tbsp. brown sugarOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWait, I have to stop and tell you all that I purchased a brand new KITCHEN TOOL – yep, I brought myself a LODGE cast iron skillet!  We’ve had one for years – hubby found it at a garage sale when we were first married but over time the cast iron has started to scrape off (!) and I don’t think that’s a good thing, so I decided to get myself a brand-new one!  It’s 12-inches and weighs a TON!  It came pre-seasoned but I sprayed it with canola oil before heating and placing my ham slice in….just because.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOkay, so now that the pan is getting warm, open the ham and slide it into the skillet.  Top with pineapple and some of the pineapple juice.  Sprinkle with brown sugar.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOoh, I love new kitchen stuff!  Let the ham heat on medium-high for about 5 minutes; flip and heat for another 5 minutes.  Place on serving platter.  There’s our supper:  ham, potatoes, fresh green beans and corn!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was so good!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter supper, I took care of my cast iron skillet and warned the teen NOT to touch it.  Only his dad and I are allowed to take care of it because it’s very delicate, even though it weighs a ton 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

