5 Minute Friday: Worship

August 30, 2013 at 9:25 am | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Worship | 4 Comments

5-minute-friday-1

This week’s word prompt is:  worship

The first thing that popped into my mind was a song that Father Daniel used to love to sing with the school children at Mass on Tuesdays and Thursdays:

Lord I Lift Your Name on High

Words and music by Rick Founds

(Verse)
Lord, I lift Your name on high
Lord, I love to sing Your praises
I’m so glad You’re in my life
I’m so glad You came to save us

(Chorus)
You came from heaven to earth
To show the way
From the earth to the cross
My debt to pay
From the cross to the grave
From the grave to the sky
Lord, I lift Your name on high

Repeat Verse

Repeat Chorus

Repeat Chorus

Lord, I lift Your name on high…

lift Your name on highFather Daniel had movements to the song and he really used to get the children singing and moving.  Even the grownups that attended those Masses were moving 🙂

That is, what I think, worship should be:  singing with all your heart and moving in mind, spirit and body.  Growing up in the Catholic church, there were so many times that the music was just so dull it could put you to sleep.  Thankfully, things are changing!  We’ve got a wonderful group of people leading songs; we have two organists and other musicians.

Sometimes my son is shy about singing; I tell him that it doesn’t matter if he’s off-key or anything because the Bible says to “Make a Joyful noise” and for sure and for certain, that’s all that I’m capable of.  Noise!  But it’s JOYFUL and that’s how I worship God.

Of course, I worship Him in prayer.  Every night, I tell my teen to say his prayers and to offer God “Two thank yous; two I’m sorrys; two praises; two pleases” and I do the same.  Prayer and worship doesn’t need to be limited to Mass on Sundays.  Some nights my hubby and I sit outside and watch the sun set and it’s just amazing to watch.  When our son was younger, I’d tell him that the beauty of the sunrise and sunset are God’s way of saying “Good Morning!” and “Good Night!”

I think I went over my five minutes but that’s alright.  I’ve done it before and so far, nobody’s kicked me out yet 🙂

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love that song! A few years back there were a group of teenage boys who sat in the front at church and always did all the motions to it as well. It was so fun! Don’t worry, I tend to go over the time limit too- sometimes it takes me at least 5 minutes just to get my thoughts together 🙂 Many blessings!

    • Thanks for visiting me, Cheri, and thanks for your sweet words. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Please know that you aren’t alone in making noise. But the joy in our hearts is what really counts. Thank you for stopping by to visit me. I hope you won’t be a stranger. Have a happy and safe weekend.

    Sophia
    twentyfiveseasons.com

    • Amen to that thought – it’s the JOY in our HEARTS that God cares about, not if we’re Grammy winning recording artists 🙂

      You, too, have a great weekend!


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

