A-1 Roast

September 3, 2013 at 10:38 pm | Posted in Beef Chuck Roast, Crock Pot, Main Dish, My Own Creation, Supper | Leave a comment

The other night we were sitting around and I asked the guys what sounded good for supper “next week” and the teen requested A-1 Roast.  I didn’t quite follow the recipe (do I ever?) and here’s my take on it, which turned out pretty good, as evidenced by the fact that there were hardly any leftovers.

Ingredients:

1 chuck roast, about 3 pounds

1/2 cup A-1 sauce

1/2 cup water

1 package of Lipton “Recipe Secrets” Beefy Onion Soup Mix

I apologize for the lack of “before” and “during” photos…hubby and I had to go to Fayetteville, so I was moving rather quickly, getting this into the crock pot.

Here are the instructions:  place the meat into the crock pot.

In a separate bowl, blend A-1 and water and soup mix together.  Pour over meat.

Turn crock pot on LOW for at least 8 hours.  Mine cooked for about 9 and the meat was fork-tender; you didn’t even need a knife to cut it!

I served it with broiled asparagus spears, baby carrots and white rice.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYou can see the onions on top of the roast:  yum!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd if you’re wondering about the rice being brown, no, I didn’t make brown rice.  It was white rice; I cooked it with Campbell’s Soup Beef Consomme for extra flavor.  My husband used to love potatoes but they don’t always taste “right” to him, and he prefers rice, so I try to make it once a week or more and I like to change it, so it stays appealing to all of us.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

