5 Minute Friday: Mercy

September 13, 2013 at 2:14 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Mercy, Song Lyrics | 4 Comments

5-minute-friday-1It’s Friday.  We’ve made it through the week.  Thank the Lord!

Because it’s Friday, that means I get to play 5 Minute Friday with Lisa and the gang.  Every week, Lisa gives a word prompt and we get 5 minutes to write, brainstorm, write, without going back and editing or correcting.  It can be intimidating and yet, so soothing.  For more info about 5 Minute Friday, visit Lisa’s site, Tales From a Gypsy Mama.

Okay, time to take this week’s prompt, time to watch my clock on my iPod deck and get to typing:

GO!

Mercy.

When I think of the word mercy, I automatically think of the group MercyMe and their song, “I Can Only Imagine” which is such a beautiful song.

God has shown me such mercy throughout my lifetime; especially during the times when I didn’t deserve it.  Oh, wait, I really never deserve it – that’s how incredible His love is for me!  Mercy and grace.  He covers me with both on a day to day basis.

Mercy.

Now, time to cheat – I do this occasionally, and the blog police haven’t come after me yet…because I love this song, I have to share the lyrics with everyone:

I Can Only Imagine: by MercyMe

I can only imagine what it will be like
When I walk by Your side
I can only imagine what my eyes will see
When Your face is before me
I can only imagine
Yeah

Surrounded by Your glory
What will my heart feel?
Will I dance for You Jesus?
Or in awe of You be still?

Will I stand in Your presence
Or to my knees will I fall?
Will I sing, Hallelujah?
Will I be able to speak at all?
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

I can only imagine when that day comes
And I find myself standing in the sun
I can only imagine when all I will do
Is forever, forever worship You
I can only imagine, yeah
I can only imagine

Surrounded by Your glory
What will my heart feel?
Will I dance for You Jesus?
Or in awe of You be still?

Will I stand in Your presence
Or to my knees will I fall?
Will I sing, Hallelujah?
Will I be able to speak at all?
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

Surrounded by Your glory
What will my heart feel?
Will I dance for You Jesus?
Or in awe of You be still?

Will I stand in Your presence
Or to my knees will I fall?
Will I sing, Hallelujah?
Will I be able to speak at all?
I can only imagine, yeah
I can only imagine

I can only imagine, yeah
I can only imagine
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When all I would do
Is forever, forever worship You
I can only imagine

Songwriters:  TUINFORT, GIORGIO / ATWEH, NASRI / RIESTERER, FREDERIC / GUETTA, DAVID / CARTER, DWAYNE / BROWN, CHRISTOPHER MAURICE / LUTTRELL, JACOB

Copyright © 2013 MercyMe

[Lyrics and songwriter information courtesy of Metro Lyrics]

 

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Patty, we love this song too! In fact, in the spring when my husband and I had to have a hard reality talk about arrangements and wishes, this was the song he told me he wanted most. (He had a heart condition that was pretty scary for a bit but is okay now.)

    • Oh, Lindsey, I know how hard that kind of talk is – my husband has terminal cancer 😦 I’m so glad that your husband is doing well now! I will keep him and you in my prayers. Songs say so many things to us, don’t they?

  2. Thank you for the reminder that we don’t deserve mercy…remembering that makes it easier for me to give mercy away!

    • Thank you for visiting, Charlie! and thanks for your kind words 🙂


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

