5 Minute Friday: Write

October 4, 2013 at 7:58 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Aortic Rupture, Hospital, Hubby, Write | 7 Comments

5-minute-friday-1It’s Friday again.

I am home from the hospital, just for the night.  It was so difficult to walk out of the cardiovascular ICU but I know that my teen needs me; there are things that I need to take care of; my husband is in good hands.  They’re not my hands, but the nurses and his surgeon are watching over him.  Better yet, God is with him.

This week, I’m joining Lisa Jo and the gang over at Five Minute Friday <- click for the rules and join in the fun.

The word prompt for this week is WRITE.

GO:

Write? I can barely think straight tonight; am not sure that anything I write will make any sense to anyone else, but here I go…

I’ve always loved to read and write.  My brother is two years older than me, so when he was in kindergarten and first grade learning to read, I sat beside him and learned to read at the same time.  It seems as though I’ve always known how to read and have always loved to write.  While I was in college, I took all of the literature courses and writing courses I could.  I love language and love writing.  Makes sense that I have a blog, doesn’t it?

I realized the other day while resting in the hospital with another Christian novel (chick lit, according to hubby), that I should have started to journal the incredible nights and days that I’ve spent in the hospital with my husband.  There’s no way I could have written much during the first 36 hours, though.  I was in shock and couldn’t have written anything that made sense.

Maybe once he’s home or at least in the rehab hospital, I can slow my brain down enough to write about this amazing, incredible, miraculous journey that  we’ve been on.

STOP.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m visiting from FMF! 🙂 I hope your husband is able to come home soon. I, too, have always loved to read and write. Stories speak to me! I think the idea to write down your experiences in the hospital is a good one. 🙂

    • Thank you for visiting 🙂 Yes, I agree: stories speak to me! I can get lost in a book. They have been my refuge during non-visiting hours at the ICU. I need to find a nice journal, so that once things have calmed down, I can remember/write the story of my husband’s miracle!

  2. Wow…you are a brave writer — to put words on the page in the middle of all you are in right now. Writing soothes the soul. Your story matters and I’m glad you are already starting to collect and consider writing the experience you are going through now.
    Ruth

    • Thank you for visiting, Ruth. Writing down the words calms me…I have many family members and dear friends on Facebook, and that’s how we’ve all been staying “together” during this very frightening time of life. I’m glad you stopped by 🙂

  3. It may have occurred to you that you could have been journaling, but I’m glad you haven’t. I think as creative writers, every moment is worth writing about but then, how do we experience the moments?

    When I first discussed my blog/book idea with Diesel (my dog’s friend’s owner), he thought it was a great idea. The next few times we met, that was all we talked about. Exasperated, I finally told him there would never be anything to put in the book/on the blog if that was all we talked about and we needed to talk like we did before. It took awhile, but we’re back to normal now.

    I can write about Diesel and our dogs, but when I’m with him, I need to just be his friend. You can always write about your husband, but when you’re with him, you just need to be his wife. 🙂

  4. Dear Patty
    You are such a great inspiration for us all with your love for your husband and the way you support him through his illness. Praying for your family and I am so grateful that you have taken a bit of your precious time to share with us today!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  5. may your writing be good therapy, stress relief, hope builder as you venture through this time …


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

