Rehabilitation

October 17, 2013 at 5:16 pm | Posted in Aortic Rupture, Hospital, Hubby, Rehabilitation | 2 Comments

Rehab is not fun.  Twice a day, the physical therapists make my hubby get up out of bed (whether he’s napping or not) and make him walk, using the walker.  Once a day, the occupational therapist comes in and sometimes makes him walk or hand do exercises.  Twice a day, the respiratory therapist comes in and does a breathing treatment on him and then makes him blow on this funny little green thing that makes hooting sounds.

He is doing so much better!  He still has a long road ahead of him.  I’ve been going to the hospital daily, after I get our teen out the door for school.  We have breakfast and lunch together (the hospital sends me a courtesy tray).  I leave and pick up the teen and we return to the hospital; then hubby and I have supper together and we leave around 7 p.m.

Today I woke up feeling like I couldn’t speak and I made an appointment with the nurse practitioner; my family doctor didn’t have any openings for appointments.  Then I called back to ask if I was contagious – I didn’t have a fever, so maybe I wasn’t.  When the secretary asked the doctor’s nurse, the nurse asked who was calling.  When the secretary told her it was me, the nurse said for me NOT to go to the hospital, that I needed to come in to see the doctor ASAP.  Nice 🙂

Anyway, I have a sinus infection and thankfully not strep; my throat is sore from the drainage (sorry if that’s TMI!).  Doctor Altom gave me an antibiotic and strict orders to stay away from the hospital for 48 hours.  So, I’ve gone to the library for a ton of books and will REST for a couple of days.  Sounds like a nice idea 🙂

Anyway, that’s my update!  God is good.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Forced rest. Sounds like my life! You heal up well, young lady! Enjoy your books. 🙂

    • Thank you, I will! As long as I can rest and call my hubby on the phone, I’ll be ok.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

