Engagement Roast Chicken

October 27, 2013 at 6:39 pm | Posted in Chicken, Garlic, Kitchen Gadgets, Lemons, Lodge Cast Iron, Main Dish, Supper | Leave a comment

While hubby was recuperating in the hospital, we watched television a lot.  Of course, since I love to cook, one of my fave stations is Food Network.  One day, Ina Garten was on and she made Engagement Roast Chicken.  We laughed at the story that once a woman made this for her man, he would propose and that’s why it was called Engagement Chicken.

While working up the menu for the week, I decided to look up Ina’s recipe, print it off and make it…just to see if hubby would propose to me 🙂

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Ingredients:

1 (4-5 pound roasting chicken)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMine came with gizzards so I yanked them out and tossed them.

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

2 lemons, cut into quarters (see picture)

1 whole head of garlic – I used Elephant Garlic

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOlive oil

1 huge onion, thickly sliced (Ina recommended Spanish onions, I used white sweet onions)

1/2 cup white wine

1/2 cup chicken stock

1 tbsp. flourOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOh and before I go any further, look what I bought this morning!  Another Lodge Cast Iron Skillet.  I already have the 12-inch skillet and this one is a 9-inch skillet.  Now I just need to keep buying them until I have them all!

Back to the recipe:  rinse and pat the chicken dry, then place it in the skillet and pour some olive oil over the top; use your fingers to massage the oil into the chicken.  Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper.

Now, crack that garlic to pieces and start popping them into the chicken, along with two quarter pieces of lemon.  It might look like they won’t all fit but trust me, that chicken stretches a bit and everything fit.
Next, take the left over lemons and slice up the onion; place in bowl with olive oil and mix well.  I squeezed my lemons a bit.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPour the onions and lemons and oil around the chicken.  It got a bit crowded in my skillet, so I went ahead and pushed a few onion pieces under the chicken.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACarefully place in oven and bake for one hour, 30 minutes (you don’t need to cover the chicken).  When timer goes off, remove from oven, jiggle a drumstick to see how loose it is and use your thermometer to check the temperature.  A chicken breast should register at least 160 degrees F.  If it does, remove the chicken from the skillet, pop on platter and cover with foil to keep it hot.  Your chicken needs to rest at least 10 minutes.

Now, take the skillet still filled with onion and lemons and oil.  Turn stove on medium-high.  Add wine, chicken stock and then slowly whisk in flour.  If you’ve got a wooden spoon, Ina suggests scraping the bottom of the roaster/skillet to pick up all of the pieces that baked on.  Yum!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALet it thicken – keep whisking – it might take about six minutes.  Pour the whole skilletfull of flavor into a gravy dish.  By now, your chicken is ready to be carved….OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADo you like the way I tied the drumsticks together?  I didn’t have any kitchen string, so I improvised with cheesecloth!  I cut some off and twisted it together like a rope and then tied the drumsticks together.

Carve the chicken and dig in.  I made fresh roasted asparagus, mashed potatoes and warmed bread in the oven.  The skillet gravy was excellent on both the chicken and the potatoes.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is all that’s left over from supper:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThanks, Ina!  I’m definitely going to make this again!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

