5 Minute Friday: Tree

November 15, 2013 at 4:35 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday | 4 Comments

5-minute-friday-1It’s Friday.  I’m sitting here in the hospital room with hubby; we just watched Dr. Phil.  Now hubby is watching a movie that looks boring, so I decided to check my email and collect Game Feeds for ChefVille.  Finally, I realized that it was Friday and time for 5 Minute Friday, so here I am.

This week’s word prompt is tree.

GO

When we decided to have our home built rather than purchase an already built place, we picked a spot in a new subdivision, in the country.  Each house was on a two acre lot; we decided with our neighbors to the north to split the two acres between us, so we each have three acre lots.

Our property used to have cattle.  While the house was being built, we’d go out and watch the progress, taking pictures and watching our step – you had to do that because for the first few weeks or so, the cattle were still there and even after they were gone, their gifts were left behind.

There were only a few trees on our property and hubby didn’t like some of them, so we immediately had a few cut down – yeah, I know, it sounds cruel, but they weren’t in “good spots” and they had to go.

Over the years, we’ve planted many.  One of our most special trees is one that we transplanted from our previous rental home (don’t tell the landlords).  It’s a silver maple (I just asked hubby).  Beneath that tree, our beloved pets rest, waiting for us to join them at Rainbow Bridge.  Our first Siamese cat (Chiquitita), second Siamese (Desdemona) and our Chocolate Lab (Tiger) rest beneath that tree.

When Shadow (our German Shepherd) was a pup and I would walk her around her territory to teach her what her “home base” was, we’d sit beneath the shade of the maple and I’d tell her of the pets that we’ve loved before her.  I don’t know how much she paid attention.  Mostly she liked it when I’d rip up grass and toss it for her to catch.

Trees are important.  Our maple has grown from a tiny sapling to a huge and gorgeous tree.  I can see it from my kitchen window – every time I look out, I think of our four-legged family members and miss them all-over again.  If we ever have to move, it’s going to be hard to leave that tree behind…but thankfully, my memories will come with me.

STOP.

Okay.  Time to fess up:  I went into my Facebook account to find a picture of our silver maple.  Believe it or not, I couldn’t find one.  So, I raced to find a picture of a silver maple:

silver maplePhoto credit: Highland Hill Farm

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh how sweet! And I completely understand. This past May, we lost our cat of over 18 years, and we buried her in our back yard beside a tree and near the creek. We planted a rhododendron bush beside her grave, & I told my husband how hard it will be if we ever leave our current house. Thank you for sharing! (And I hope your husband is okay!)

    • Thank you for your note, Wendy. Hopefully my husband will be able to come home on Monday or Tuesday!

  2. Hi Patty – I am so sorry to hear your husband is back in the hospital. My prayers are with you. Take care, Karen – like your tree post.

    • Karen, it’s been a rough autumn for all of us – but God is watching over us. Hopefully, the doctor will release him either Monday or Tuesday.

      Patty


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

