Hamburgers with Secret Sauce

January 9, 2013 at 9:03 pm | Posted in Hamburger, Main Dish, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

There’s one word for what these hamburgers were tonight: excellent!

The recipe is courtesy of Ashley at Little Miss Momma.  I halved the recipe on the burgers (not the sauce) and used Colby Jack cheese because my grocery store didn’t have Monterrey Jack.  Otherwise, I followed her directions and am very glad that I did!

Ingredients:

Hamburger

1 pound ground beef, 85/15

sesame seed buns

butter

1/4 cup Colby Jack cheese, shredded

1/8 cup Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce

seasoning salt

black pepper

onion powder

Secret Sauce

3/4 cup of mayonnaise

1/4 cup ketchup

1/4 cup sweet pickle relish

2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

seasoning salt

best burger 001

Instructions for Secret Sauce

Combine ingredients in small container.

best burger 005

Mix well and taste; add seasoning salt until flavor is just right.

best burger 006

 

Cover and place in refrigerator while you prepare the burgers; this gives the flavors a chance to blend.

Instructions for Burgers

Combine hamburger, cheese, BBQ sauce, seasoning salt, pepper and onion powder in bowl.

best burger 002

 

Mix well; I used my hands, kind of like when I make a meatloaf.  Don’t over-mix, though, or it will toughen the meat.

best burger 003

 

Once everything is nicely mixed, separate meat into four meatballs.

best burger 004

 

I use my hamburger press to make the burgers.  In her instructions, Ashley emphasized making the burgers with a hole in the center in order to prevent the hamburger patty from becoming a dome; mine don’t become domes, thanks to the hamburger press.

best burger 007

 

In her instructions, Ashley also mentioned that quite a few people had mentioned that their burgers fell apart.  I decided to let mine rest for a while before frying them up.  I toasted my sesame seed buns in butter, just as Ashley instructed.

best burger 008

 

I also made pork and beans with bacon.  While the buns were toasting and the bacon was frying, the burgers rested.

best burger 012

 

Bacon, bacon, bacon!

best burger 014

 

Yummy!  My teenager asked for some “plain” bacon before I put it all into the beans.  I also added some Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce (maybe 1/4 cup) and honey (maybe a tablespoon) to the beans.

Okay…now the buns were toasted and the beans were ready.

best burger 011

 

Using the same skillet that I toasted the buns in, I added more butter and turned the heat to medium-high.

best burger 013

Once the butter got sizzling hot, I set the hamburger patties in the skillet and didn’t touch them for about seven minutes.

best burger 015

 

After seven minutes, I flipped the burgers and waited another seven minutes or so.

best burger 016

 

You can see the cheese in the burgers, can’t you?

Once the burgers were finished, I took them out of the pan to rest for five minutes.

best burger 017

 

I could see the juices just laying on the patties…this is why we let the meat rest before we dive into it…to let those juices seep into the meat and stay there so that when you take that first bite, it’s nice and juicy and sloppy!

best burger 018

 

Pop those patties onto their bottom buns – then took them to the table, offered the special sauce and dove in!  My teenager wasn’t sure about the sauce.  He read the recipe as I was cooking the burgers and asked me, “Do I have to eat that part?” and I said that he didn’t, that I would just put the sauce on the table.

Well, after he saw my husband and I using the sauce and drooling all over ourselves, he decided to try it and he loved it, too.

best burger 019

Excellent!  The toasted sesame seed buns made them even more delish!  I’m definitely adding this to my repertoire.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.