5 Minute Friday: BRAVE

May 3, 2013 at 2:07 pm | Posted in 5 Minute Friday, Brave | 8 Comments

5-minute-friday-1

 

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

Oh and Ahem, if you would take pity and turn off comment verification, it would make leaving some love on your post that much easier for folks!

OK, are you ready? Please give us your best five minutes on:::

Brave…

GO

I’m not brave.

People tell me that I am brave and strong.  I’ve fooled them all, though.

I’m afraid and weak.  I’m human.

There are things in my life that terrify me:  my husband has terminal cancer; I have a teenage son that I know I’ll eventually have to raise on my own.

So, do you want to know how I do it?  How do I look brave?  How do I look strong?

I lean on God.

Hard.

With all my might.

He lifts me up.  Night and day.  Day and night.

Through the good times and the bad times, He is my strength and He is my life.

So, no, if you think I’m brave, I’m not.  I’m a big chicken.

Without God, I’m just a puff of feathers, floating through life with no direction.

But, when I lean on God and trust in Him, I can be that brave woman that my friends think that I am.

I lean on my friends, too and am so grateful to them, for sure.

But when push comes to shove, I hit my knees and pray.  Then, I can be brave and face the world.

STOP

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you for sharing. Wow. Blessings.

  2. Thank you, Michelle!

  3. Dear Patti
    If I were in your shoes, dear one, I would have been petrified! So I understand! I have a chronic illness that has disabled me a lot (Fm/CFS) and I know that it leaves me very desperate and scared at times. But just like you, I lean deep into the life of our sweet, dear Lord of Love! He carries all these cowardly ones! Thanks for sharing your brave heart.
    Blessings from FMF
    Mia

  4. Thank you, Mia, for your sweet words. I am so grateful to God for the gifts he’s given to me.
    Patty

  5. Amen, bless you.

  6. Thank you, Shortybear!

  7. You’re right — He is the only way to be brave through the hard times.

    • Amen! Thanks for visiting.


I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.