Chicken Parmesan

November 8, 2012 at 6:55 pm | Posted in Chicken, Italian, Main Dish | Leave a comment

We love chicken parmesan. This recipe was hand-written by me on a sheet of notebook paper; I didn’t write down where I got it from…I usually do that! If you recognize this recipe as yours, please e-mail me and I’ll gladly give you credit.

Ingredients:

1 pound of chicken breasts

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

1 tbsp. garlic powder

1 egg, beaten(this is my addition to the handwritten recipe)

1 cup of Italian bread crumbs

Provolone cheese (or more Parmesan cheese)

Extra-virgin olive oil

Spaghetti, cooked al dente and drained

Spaghetti sauce (I cheated and used jar spaghetti sauce tonight)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and oil a cookie sheet with the oil.

Pound chicken breasts until they’re about 1/4 inch thick and slice them into bite sized pieces – not quite like chicken tenders, but small enough that they’ll cook quickly.

Mix mayonnaise, garlic powder, cheese  and egg in a shallow container.  Pour bread crumbs into separate container.

Dip each piece of chicken into wet ingredients and then into the crumbs, so that the pieces are totally covered by the crumbs.  I didn’t get to take pictures of this part of the process.  It was too messy and I didn’t want to get my camera crumbly with the mess LOL

Place on cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil.

Pop into preheated oven for 12 minutes.

Turn over and drizzle more olive oil on pan and on each piece of chicken.

 

Return to oven for another 12 minutes.  Check with meat thermometer – use the thickest piece of chicken and make sure the temp goes up to 160 degrees F.

Top with cheese and return to oven.

 

Let the cheese melt and get bubbly, but not burnt.

Remove from oven and let sit for about three minutes.  Divide spaghetti between plates.  Top with a piece of chicken.

 

Top with warmed spaghetti sauce and enjoy!

 

It was very tasty!  I served it with a refrigerated Pillsbury Italian loaf of bread.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

I love reading your comments! Please leave me your thoughts.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.